I Was Beaten By The Rain.

Have you ever been to Lagos? There is no doubt that Lagos is the second most beautiful place in Nigeria. Well, we know that Lagos is very beautiful but it is full of so many ghettos too. When you visit Lagos, you tend to see a lot of slums that people live in and how they live their lives over there. To be very honest, living in Lagos is not easy. It is very tough and it even depends on the area that you live in Lagos. For those who are very much conversant with Lagos, they will know that Lagos is a water land. This is why we have islands in Lagos. We have Lagos Island, Banana Island, Marina and a lot more. Well, the drainage system of Lagos is good but not good enough. This is why everywhere tends to get flooded when a little rain falls especially when you live on any of the islands.

Talking about rain this night made me remember one particular rain that beat me five years ago. I was on the Lagos mainland popularly known as Mushin. I was traveling to another state and I woke up very early in the morning so I could get to my destination on time. Immediately I alighted from the bus, the heavy rain started. I tried to wait somewhere but the wave was too much that the rain was beating me at the place I was staying. At some point, the roof of the place opened and the rain was pouring directly on my head.

The rain fell for about five hours and it all poured on my head. I would have had a place to hide but every building in that area is not very good. It is more like they are living in an open place. It would have been better if the rain only beat me but the road was flooded. It was flooded to the point that the water was getting to my knee. That was crazy. Isn't it?

I tried to do like some people. I wanted go continue with my journey but I almost fell inside the dirty gutter. Only people who are familiar with how dirty Mushin looks like will understand what I mean and they will never like to put their legs into that water.

Image Link

I hope you can see how dirty the water looks. This is exactly the kind of water that I dipped my legs into. I know you can't imagine yourself putting your legs in this kind of water. I felt very bad on that day because I was not only beaten by the rain but I also dipped my legs inti the dirty water and I could no longer embark on the journey I was going for. I had to postpone it.

Ever since then, I always check the weather anytime I am going out. If I realize that it is raining and the rain will be very heavy, I would not bother to go because it will not be nice for me to experience this twice.

I know you must have been beaten by the rain too. Tell me your experience.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency