No access to my gadgets. What a boring life.


Brooke Cagle from Unsplash


Last week, my laptop got shut down and didn't come on. I was at that point devastated. This is something that I have been addicted to, and at that moment, I was running up and down trying to get someone who could fix it in a day for me.

I was recommended to someone who is an expert, and when I took it to him, he checked for the possible solution, as I sat down waiting for him to hand over my stuff back to me and say “Your system has been fixed.”

But I got the shock of my life when he said, it will be ready the next Tuesday. I counted with my fingers. This means I would be without my system for six days 😳😳😳


Another scenario was when I visited my Aunt, and there was no light for two days. My phone and power banks were dead. That was when I realized my life revolves around my phone. I saw that I have been too addicted to that phone.

I lost concentration on things going on around me. May God forgive me because, during morning devotion, my mind was how I would get my phone charged. 😅😅😅

I took out the money I didn't want to spend and gave it to my brother to go look for fuel, so we could power on the generator, but he came back saying he couldn't find any fuel station.

Well, my Aunt just relocated to the area, and it was still new to us. I gave up and accepted my fate.


At least humans still coped without phones in the past, and not when technology got advanced now. Many of us now make use of our phones and computers for businesses. We are so addicted to it that it's difficult for us to feel too well without any of them. The phone or laptop is a source of income for many people.


For someone like me, I have always been with my phone, and the only time it rests is when I sleep or I get tired, which will only last for a few minutes, as I would have concluded of having rested. I can't do without any of these gadgets because most of what I do, is on them.

I use my phone for my morning devotion because I have some topics I study from the Bible App and it makes the moment interesting and fun, than praying always.


What if I couldn't have access to any of these stuff for a week, what will happen?

I don't have a choice though, but I feel I would be more connected to my friends and family. I have always enjoyed my privacy with my phone, locked in my room with no distraction.

Many times, my friends had complained that I only spend my time with my phone and not with them, and they feel I am proud 😬. At this moment, I will give them my full time, even though it will be boring at some point.

Reading books. I noticed that when I do not have anything to do on my phone, and I need something to keep me busy, I will take a novel to read. I don't like seeing myself not doing anything, especially when I am not with my phone.

There was a time, I had a flat battery and a friend decided to go into the school to charge. I gave her my phone to help me too, and for several hours, I was on my book reading. At that moment, I knew my phone had been taking the space of other things. I have starved myself many times because of this phone. I think it's a spirit 😂

I will also start jotting things down in my notebook. At least for that week, I wouldn't want to let those ideas skip away. I will start writing and keeping them until I can have access to my gadgets.

Also, living my life for a week without a phone or laptop will create more time for sleep. Yes, everywhere will be boring to me, and I will just prepare my meals, eat and sleep. The circle continues when I wake up. It will not be easy at all but like I said, I don't have a choice.


In summary, I don't think such can happen. This is why I resorted to getting two big power banks that would last me for days even though there is no electricity.

I can't do without the two gadgets, especially my phone. It's just like MTN (Everywhere you go) even when going to poo 🥱


I read @burlarj's post some hours ago, and he said he always saves for an emergency, especially for his gadgets. I found this nice, and I would start adopting the method because just like my system that got faulty, I never expected to spend such an amount.

The money was meant for my foodstuffs, but I don't have a choice but to spend it on my laptop.

Thanks for your time

20220415_174258_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments
Ecency