I have experienced something like this before.

1_20230202_001415_0000.png

𝕴𝖒𝖆𝖌𝖊 𝖘𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖈𝖊 𝖉𝖊𝖘𝖎𝖌𝖓𝖊𝖉 𝖔𝖓 𝕮𝖆𝖓𝖛𝖆

I have always heard of the word "Dejavu" before but didn't take the time to know what it means. People often mention that word a lot, and instead of me checking out what it means, I feel there is no need since I won't be using it when speaking. The day I tried explaining a particular experience I had to a friend which had to do with this particular word, I couldn't find a word to illustrate it, but I sense the person understood what I was saying and she confirmed to have experienced such before.

Checking discord for the next topic this week made me finally meet Mr Google to explain what it means and I realized how unserious I was not to have known what it mean. Thanks to Hive Learners edition because I see every topic as a way to enlighten and make me gain knowledge on where I have been ignorant of. At least, I will never be forgetting "Dejavu" anymore. Sticking to my brain like chewing gum glued to one's hair, you know how arduous it would take to get removed? But my brain won't be erasing something like this. Never!

Egbonn.png

Dejavu, in my explanation, is encountering something you have experienced before: in the exact place, just like replaying the same scenario and you'd remembered something of such had happened. In most cases, the setting may look exactly like the past but the words would be different, and you will know you have gone through that moment before.

I have experienced this before and many times. I don't know how I felt the first time I experienced this but I believe it would be a surprise thing for me, making it look strange and you'd laugh at that occurrence. It is very common with everyone and when I explain to my friends or siblings, they also confirm being in such a moment.

Egbonn.png

It's a french name which means "already seen". This means that something you already experienced or witnessed before will come back in that same place making you realize it had occurred before. Most times, you may not remember what took place at that time but you know it's something that has happened.

1_20230202_000813_0000.png

𝕴𝖒𝖆𝖌𝖊 𝖘𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖈𝖊 𝖉𝖊𝖘𝖎𝖌𝖓𝖊𝖉 𝖔𝖓 𝕮𝖆𝖓𝖛𝖆

Dejavu is a strange feeling because, at that moment, you start thinking of some weird imagination like, is this some sort of power making you rewind to remembering some incident that has happened to you, especially if what you encountered wasn't palatable and feel like replaying the whole scenario again so you can change the event, and when this feeling occurs, you believe it's a way for you to change some things not to occur.

Egbonn.png

To some, it is more like a warning that something is about to happen and they should be proactive about it.

I have been thinking of sharing some instances of mine where I have experienced something like this, and while doing that, I got a clue of two instances I'd like to share with you.

The first instance...

I was eating outside with my friends as we were gisting; the sitting arrangement, the same people, food I was eating all came in a flash, making me remember something like this had happened. Only the discussion was different and I was shocked because I could remember it was the same people, how we sat, and the same food I was eating, which was how it happened in the past. I tried remembering what we were talking about at that time but I couldn't.

I immediately alerted them and said, "this moment has happened before with the same 'us'". Some didn't believe while others were confirming it was true that something like this happens. We couldn't give it a name and we all laughed seeing how everything was played just as it was then.

Egbonn.png

The second instance...

My Dad called me that day, and as we were discussing, I told him and said "Daddy, you have discussed something like this before". He insisted it was his first time sharing with me. The reason I said that was because the way he called me, and how I stood and acted made me remember it has happened before which made me think he had discussed the same thing with me.

I have also experienced Dejavu where I will walk into a room and suddenly feel like I have been there before — even though I know I haven't been there. This feeling is always overwhelming and before I know what is going on, it disappears quickly like a flash; like the way it came.

Egbonn.png

Also, when you listen to a sound, it triggers the feeling that you have heard such a sound somewhere before and you tried to remember where it happened but funny enough, you cannot get the details of the past through Dejavu because the way it comes, it leaves immediately, but your brain would leave you to always remember the feeling every time just as the way we are putting it into an article here.

According to statistics, about 60-70% of people in good health experience some form of Dejavu during their lifetime. I read that this feeling is a good thing for the vast majority of people experiencing it. It's a sign that the "fact-checking brain" regions are working well, hence, the healthy people experiencing it.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency