My Hometown And What Makes Us Unique

Nsukka is my hometown, our language is Igbo and I am proud and in love with my hometown. It's a city located in the Eastern part of Nigeria, precisely in Enugu state. I was born and raised in my hometown, I schooled in my hometown, and I experienced many of our cultures until I got married and relocated out of my hometown 9 years ago. Now you see that I can tell you vividly the uniqueness of my hometown as an adult.

village-gdef9a8c0e_1280.png
Image source

Nsukka is my beautiful hometown with one of the leading universities in Nigeria. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) is the first indigenous university in Nigeria established after independence and my hometown is its location. You see why I am taking so much pride in my hometown. A lot of students from far states, even foreign students travel down to my hometown for schooling. This is to tell you how good the University is. Here in hive, I know a good number of UNN students. Isn't that amazing? Lol

Now, let's talk about the people in my hometown...

We are hardworking people, even parents who weren't privileged to attend school engage so much in farming just to send their children to school. Right from childhood, the children are being trained in farming as well, so literally, a good percentage of people in my hometown are all good at farming including myself. The ones who cannot afford to school learn business at an early stage, and some engage in learning hand work like mechanics, etc. Overall, you hardly see lazy youths in my hometown from my observations so far. Some secondary students engage in barrow pushing business during the holiday as a means of hustling to assist their parents in paying bills...I observed this a lot, In fact my immediate elder brother did that a lot then, and to date, young boys are still in the business mostly during the holidays.

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-15-52-60_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Myself in My hometown

Talking about farming, my people are blessed with this skill. Most of the food we eat comes from our farmland. There is no shame in this because it saves a lot of money buying virtually everything in the market. I can tell you that all families in my hometown engage in farming.

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-13-17-39_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

The last time I visited my hometown, I didn't hesitate to visit my mummy's farm and harvest corn 🌽 for myself ☺️

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-13-07-44_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg



Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-13-48-72_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

We are blessed with different kinds of plants, palm fruits, ogbono tree (for draw soup), avocado tree, native pear, etc. And guess what? We make money πŸ€‘πŸ’° from these fruit plants.

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-10-59-21_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Pear tree

What we are known for...

We are best known for traditional medicine and the use of local plants in curing some diseases. I have seen people who got cured of poison through our local herbs. Some people in our community are just experts on herb mixtures but I don't have such grace please..lol. Growing up with my grandma, she never gave me money to buy orthodox medicine for the treatment of malaria or typhoid fever. She will always prepare local herbs and once I drink them, I will be fine within a few days.

Did I tell you about our local delicacies? Most of them are so stressful to prepare...it consumes a lot of my gas to cook here it here in Lagos state where I reside..lol, but our food is unique meals I am proud of. It might not look pleasant in your eyes, but it's super delicious πŸ˜‹

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-10-33-79_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

This is Otipi, made with corn 🌽, veggies, native beans, oil bean seed, etc

My hometown has good hospitals for health care, and different markets in different locations with four market days known as "eke, Orie, Afor, and nkwo". We also have streams and boreholes for our sources of water which the community enjoy.

We are religious people and we are rich in our cultural practices. We respect and practice our culture at all times. When it comes to the marriage ceremony, one thing I love about my people is that we don't give all those unending marriage lists other eastern states give as if they are selling their daughter πŸ˜‰.. lol. In fact, there is nothing like a marriage list in nsukka, we just let the intending groom know what is required and he provides to his capacity, of course, food and drinks should be enough but no pressure of any sort.

All these points and more which I can't mention in this post are what makes us unique from the rest of the world 🌍

Have you been to your hometown? What are you people known for?

This post is in response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled YOUR HOMETOWN

PLEASE NOTE, ALL PICTURES ARE MINE EXCEPT THE ONE I SOURCED ABOVE

20230117_122602_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
62 Comments
Ecency