Getting Good From Being An Amateur

We are all familiar with the word "practice makes perfect". When it comes to getting good enough at something, it means you may have been giving much of your attention to it. It's very common to find yourself being a newbie or an amateur on a particular thing. There is always a starting point for everyone but the journey to learning and discovery becomes pleasant the moment you start taking charge or being proficient in whatever you are learning, perhaps doing it with ease.

IMG_9070.png

Image is mine designed using canva

For this edition topic from the hive learners community, we are to share a thing that we are getting good at, and getting proficient with it as well from one time an amateur. so journey with me as I take you through that thing I am getting better than the way I started, though not proficient, in fact not in any way close to being proficient but getting a bit better with it.

Writing...

I have never dreamt in my entire life of writing long epistles like this. I didn't believe I can write up to 200 words and this is why I didn't go close to art subjects in secondary school because they love writing all the time. I have been a newbie in this skill called writing, trying to put words together over a topic to make meaning hasn't been an easy peasy journey but I discovered that for me to be a good writer, I must be a good reader.

20220815_123858_0001.png

So my journey to becoming better in writing has been through consistent reading. Reading novels recently, reading from other authors in hive, discovering how people approach topics, and learning from them. So many things are involved to be a good writer, starting from thinking how valuable your content can be to your readers, how to put words in paragraphs, and comas, as well as formatting to make your content look beautiful and attractive. All these are what I have been learning and still learning but overall, my perk has been consistent reading from other writers.

Am I still an amateur on anything else?

When it comes to driving, I wouldn't tell you that I am an expert but an amateur. My journey to getting good at driving hasn't been an easy peasy task for me. To so many people, they find it so easy but mine hasn't been easy when it comes to driving on a highway. At first, I saw driving as something I could learn in under one week just by watching my husband drive but I was wrong. The moment I started learning, I started seeing some calculations involved in driving, lol, to reverse was like a nightmare for me🤦. I think a good number of people also find reversing a bit difficult during learning among every other thing required of driving. To facilitate my driving journey, I enrolled in a driving school where the tutor took his time to educate me on both the theory and practical aspects of driving.

image.png

If you live in Lagos state Nigeria, you will discover that driving in Lagos is a job. So many rough drivers everywhere on the road which made me wonder if most of them really know the rules guiding driving, driving on the highway has been with fear but I am trying to develop a strong mind..lol. I think the best way to get away with fear while driving starts from the mind. Everyone must not enroll in driving school before learning how to drive, but I did so to get the best driving skills and practice and also learn more about the rules while driving on the highway to avoid getting into trouble. However, I am still an amateur in driving especially the reversing aspect but I am trying my best and looking forward to the time I will be proficient with it.

This post is in response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled An Amateur

THANKS FOR READING!!!

20230117_122602_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency