This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

VOLUNTEERING - An Act Of Kindness


Image source

I have try in every little way I can to lend a helping hand to people that might need help and I hope that someday I'll get to the point where I have more than enough to give those in need. Helping people in need without expecting anything in return is referred to as volunteering and I believe it comes with a lot of divine blessings.. It's an act of kindness and a good virtue that everyone should possess.

I have been fully involved in volunteer service before and hope to do more as the opportunities come. Doing this over and over again can never go into extinction because it gives me a kind of fulfillment that cannot be explained.. Imagine being the reason why someone could put up an amazing smile on his or her face☺️
There's a certain joy or fulfillment that comes from helping others voluntarily and seeing how happy they are because you came through for them at their time of need. I'm sure you get what I mean here right?

I've been a volunteer at several instances but this ever cherished volunteer service that I will be relating to y'all happened during my NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) when I and my CDS(Community Development Service) group members made it a duty to reach out to the needy children once in a month in the community where we served. I was a member of the SDG (Sustainable Development Goals) CDS group... The right CDS group to belong during NYSC if you love doing volunteer jobs😅

I served in the Western part of Nigeria somewhere in Ogun State. Getting to this place, I took note of the children around here and their lifestyle. Some of them hardly fed or took care of themselves probably due to poor parenting. Some hardly even went to school or you see them go to school just once in a week..

Somebody needed to help them and looking at the whole situation on ground, it seemed like something that was not going to be achievable.. Like how were we going to achieve that with the little monthly allowance that we earned. If we do that with the little we had, how were we going to take care of our own needs..

Moving on, we put all that aside and we voluntarily decided to be of help... We reached out to some schools around and told them of our plans and they were so happy and embraced our ideas so much..
When the pupils heard from the school management that some persons were going to be visiting the school frequently at unannounced times to give them the luxuries that they desire, It helped to increase the attendance of the pupils😅
This was a good strategy that we used to get the pupils to start coming to school.. right!

Firstly, we gave them a health education on the need for personal hygiene. Just as one of SDG goals says "Good health and well being". We taught them how to take good care of their teeth, body and even the cloths they put on their body.


This was me educating them on mouth hygeine 😅

Afterwards, we distributed some personal hygeine items like toothbrush, liquid soaps and detergents and of course some biscuits and lolipops.. Children love sweet things a lot you know?

All these items were made available from our little monthly allowance and as much as this may have inconvenienced us at that time, personally, I was happy I was able to join in the voluntary service with my CDS members.

We were so ready to do more and put smiles on the faces of the needy young ones around.. We had lots more to do like distributing pads to the needy young girls in the community once in a month. We heard that some girls who couldn't afford buying pads for use during their menstrual cycle still used wrappers or abandoned clothes as pad and wash it after use to dry and reuse😔 We felt bad about this and planned to be of help to them but unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic happened. Nevertheless, this was later accomplished by our group leader because she lived very close to the the young girls who needed help with the pads.

We would have done more like I said earlier but with the little that we could achieve before the lockdown I have this great joy that I was involved in a volunteer service that caused a smile on the faces of the needy young ones around me.

This is my entry to the week26edition02 of the hivelearners contest titled volunteering.
Feel free to join in and participate!