I'D LEARN THE FULL YORUBA LANGUAGE


Image source

I'm from the eastern part of Nigeria and I've lived there all my life... Let's say I was born and brought up in the eastern part of Nigeria where our language is the Igbo language and of course we the Igbos try as much as possible to balance our normal language with the universal language (English). So almost everyone from the east both old and young, educated and uneducated knows how to speak English language or even the pidgin English.. Anyone wey your mouth reach! ๐Ÿ˜‚

But NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) made me have a change of environment. I served my fatherland in a Yoruba land, Ogun State (Western part of Nigeria).. At first, when I came to this land, everything looked so strange especially thier language.. The yorubas value their language more than we the Igbos I must confess
So most times they use it while conversing with each other at market places, work places, churches, hospitals and even in schools. They practically use it anytime and anywhere be it in an official setting.
It's that serious trust me!๐Ÿ˜‚

Those times we go for Community Development Service during NYSC, our Local Government Inspector (LGI) never forgets to chip in Yoruba language when she's addressing us and most times I felt lost in between conversations that I thought I was flowing with๐Ÿ™ƒ
Ifeoluwa my friend was literally my interpreter those times๐Ÿ˜…

When I first came to the land, I was never interested in learning the Yoruba language cus I had this mindset that I was gonna just be there for just a year and after my service program I would flee from the land๐Ÿ˜‚
But the reverse is now the case..
I've been in Ogun State for three years now and still counting but this short story that I'm going to tell you below prompted me to want to learn the Yoruba language as soon as I can..

I'm making progress by the way! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Image source

Few months ago, I went to the market to get a music box for my hive music parole. Actually, I didn't know the exact price or price range of the kind of music box I needed but had enough cash to get anyone I see that I might like.. I checked several shops but couldn't see what I needed, it's a local market anyways so I never expected much..

After a long search, I finally got to another shop and this time around I promised myself that it was going to be the final search whether I see my preferred choice or not.. After I checked out all the music boxes that were available I finally found a good oneโ˜บ๏ธ

Immediately, I asked the guy in charge for the price of the music box.. He started conversing with the next guy seated in the shop in Yoruba language I was lost for few minutes because I didn't know what they were talking about.. And after their conversation, they told me the price.. N10,000๐Ÿ˜ณ
To say I was shocked was an understatement.. But I needed the music box badly, So I asked for a deduction and they said they could only deduct N500..
I pleaded and we finally reached an agreement of N1000 deduction, so I got the music box for N9000.. I got home, showed the music box to my neighbors and told them the amount I got it for.. They laughed at me so bad and told me that I have been scammed the Yoruba way๐Ÿ˜ฉ
That the music box is something I would have gotten within the price range of 4000-5000 naira.. Choii! I wept that very day! If only I understand Yoruba language...

Few weeks later, I went back to the shop to get a charger for my small phone, and this time around I met the owner of the shop.. Surprisingly, I know the owner of the shop.. I've met him a couple of times at my friend's shop. Thankfully, he recognized me๐Ÿ™‚

The guys who scammed me saw the familiarity and almost froze to death..
My own time for revenge right? ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I quickly asked the man about the music box that I bought the other time and he told me it's sold for N5000 but he would give me for N4000 as his friend's friend.. By this time, the guys were already sweating like Christmas fowls๐Ÿ˜‚

It was then, that I let the cat out of the bag.. I told him all that happened the day I came to buy the music box. He got so angry and told the guys that they were going to get punished for what they did.. Well, I never followed up the case to know if the guys were punished but I was happy that their boss got to know about their evil doings and I was refunded too๐Ÿ˜‰

So why narrating this incident to my yoruba friend Ifeoluwa, she advised me on the need to learn at least the basic yoruba language.

And she said, If at least you know what "Money" is called in Yoruba language, you would have known they were negotiating on the price to tell you..That way you would have known what they were on about๐Ÿ™‚

This is so true!
I have come to stay in Yoruba land and I have seen the need to learn not just the basis but the full language for the sake of business transactions and interaction with others!
So to avoid being lost during conversations, scammed, or being ridiculed I would have to learn the full Yoruba language to be on the same page with the people of the land..

This is my entry to the week24edition03 of the contest organized @hivelearners community titled BEING BILINGUAL. Feel free to participate!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency