Stumbled, Tripped, Won!

The best way to get out of a difficult situation is through it.- Robert Frost


If anyone had told my university life wouldn’t be as I expected I would have told them they were lying. Getting accepted into the university is one thing and being able to graduate is another. For someone who had spent all her life with her family in the city, moving to a university in a not-so-city-like place was something new to me.

Having to travel for over 19 hours just to get to school was hectic but I got used to it with time. University life wasn’t that bad until our first semester results came out. My grades weren’t that terrible but I knew I could do better. Moving from a lower to a higher stage in the university meant that you had to put in extra effort in each stage you proceed to.

Everything was going well until Covid-19 decided to take us back home for a year. School commenced some months later and even with that we had to have our classes online. At that time, I had so many problems to worry about to the extent that I could barely keep up with my studies.

Later, we moved back to campus for face to face classes and I didn’t even know what I was doing with my life anymore. Having classes to attend, taking up positions and having my own personal problems to deal with. My grades started to drop a bit but I tried my best to keep them up.

Fast forward, I was already in third year and I’m like ‘wow’. I don’t think I spent up to two months in school in my third year. I always had things to do, travelling here and there and what have you. It’s good I had annoying @yahuzah who was always covering up for me when I was away. He would even write some of my lab reports for me which was sweet him.😂 But what are friends for.

Before I could realise, I was in final year. At that point , I wasn’t bothered about school anymore. I just wanted to graduate. Not just to graduate but to graduate with a good class. As an over-thinker, I would always have so many things to worry about and I felt no one would be able to understand me so I just focussed on my studies.😂 Man, I used to calculate my GPA, do some maths here and there like you guys do in football. I was so occupied I didn’t even want to get out of bed for the day ahead.

All this while, I had my own stuff to deal with and it was already draining me. But all I could do was cry and move on because I know God always comes through for me. Right before completion, I started to feel everything falling in the right places and I knew that I made a good decision to not give up. I remember telling @yahuzah and @depressedfuckup I didn’t pass and they were both worried.😂 Actually, I wanted to surprise them when the graduation list came out and funny @yahuzah didn’t want to talk to me anymore so I had to beg and apologise for the lie( surprise).

I would say, the past 4 years have been the toughest years of my life but I never gave up amidst it all. I would worry, cry, rant , be mad at people because I was frustrated and all. But, one thing I didn’t do was quit. At the end of the day, there was really a bright light at the end of the tunnel.


All images belong to me.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency