Level Up Your Skills: Navigating Hive, Markdowns, and Canva Like a Pro- Newbies Initiative Task 2

Hello guys!
I’m excited today and I hope you are to. It’s already the second week of the Newbies Initiative First Edition 2023. In our discord meeting last weekend, our topic for discussion was Hive Guidelines, Markdowns, and Canva Tutorials.


image designed by me on canva

It’s a shame I had to drop out of our meeting at some point due to network issues but with the little I learnt from the meeting and the tutorials provided by our teachers, I am excited to write my task for the week.

The weekly task provided by our teachers is to test our understanding of what was being taught. That’s what every teacher does right?

Here is the task for this week week and below is my response.

  • As a Hivean, What are things that are expected of you? What are the things which are not expected of you to not do?
  • Your thumbnail should be made with using Canva,
    show us the steps you took to make your thumbnail.

8B167E96-6DA5-4F72-9615-87C8FC7CA8B4.png

As a Hivean, What are things that are expected of you? What are the things which are not expected of you to not do?

Dos and Don’ts of hive are very important on the blockchain. As we all know, there’s no kingdom without rules and same applies to the hive ecosystem. When rules are taken for granted or not followed, one has to answer for their actions.

I would like to assume that almost all of us know of these rules. If not all, then some.
Some of us have broken these rules by mistake and some also intentionally but in all, I guess we paid for our actions and learnt from our mistakes

I would like to start with the Don’ts of hive followed by the Dos.

2FC96E44-0485-4291-A48C-AFE239038CC2.png

THE DON’TS OF HIVE

PLAGIARISM

We all know what plagiarism is but if you don’t, plagiarism is the act of taking someone’s work from the internet or wherever and making it look like yours.
Simply put, the act of taking ownership of someone’s work and taking credit for it without their consent

On Hive, plagiarism is considered as stealing and it is not allowed on the blockchain. Everyone frowns on it.
Anyone caught in the act of plagiarising will most definitely get downvoted

THE USE OF Al

The issue of IA has come to become a very serious topic on hive.
The blockchain is proof of brain. This means that one has to write original content which is from their own point of view using their own words.
So, the use of artificial intelligence to generate post is prohibited on hive.
Anyone caught in the act would have their post flagged and most likely downvoted.
I bet you wouldn’t want that to happen to you. So, let’s try our best possible to write original content.

VOTE BEGGING

The issue of vote begging is not really spoken about on the blockchain because most people wouldn’t do that. But you know we have black sheep’s everywhere and same applies to our beloved blockchain.

Begging for votes from whales or curators is not allowed on hive. I consider it as an act of selfishness and desperation.

Your post would get voted or curated of it meets the standards of anyone reading and that of the curators also. This is why it is essential for us to post quality content to attract readers

E2EBE26C-ECF2-4E53-AEC0-72402D8D2070.png

THE DOS OF HIVE

ENGAGEMENT

One thing I have learnt within the past few months that I have spent of hive that that engagement is key.
It is totally not right to just drop your posts on the blockchain and leave. One needs to interact with other users and also upvote quality content.
With this, you would receive the same energy you’re also giving of.

In the process of engagement, one would most likely make one or two friends if not more.
Through engagement, one is also likely to gain more followers who like your content and would upvote your posts.
To be successful on hive, read others posts, upvote others posts, comment on others post , make friends and you would be more than fine.

SOURCING

In making our posts, we are most likely going to need to use images. But one cannot have all the images we want that belong to us.
To solve this issue, we tend to take images from the internet which do not belong to us to use in our posts.
I beg we have all seen images in individual posts with ‘source ‘ under the pictures.
This means that the image does not belong to that individual and that is the link to the post.

Being a newbie, I’ve had one or two problems with sourcing and I’m still finding my way around it.

Sourcing doesn’t only apply to images, it applies to quotes, definitions and references.
We need to source our quotes, definitions and notes or references which have been taken from the internet.

Failure to source our images, quotes and others is termed as plagiarism and you knows what happens if you’re caught.

In taking pictures from the internet, we are advised to take them from free sites such and pixabay and the likes .

TAGS

Who would have thought I made a post with tags when I first joined hive. I didn’t know then, but now I have come to learn and appreciate the importance of tags.
Tags make your post easy to find and give its more exposure.
It is important to add the appropriate tags to our post all the time. Let us take note.

60B6F3D2-8E28-41CA-BEA0-148808DBF1A2.png

MARKDOWNS

In our discussion , we were also taught how to use markdowns in our posts and I have made use of some in this post.
Here are some markdowns I have made use of:

Justify ; This markdown is what I used to make put my write up on line.

Center : I used this markdown to put my images in the center
Heading : I used this markdown to make my headings. As you can see in my post. My headings look bigger and bolder
Bold : I used this markdown to bolden words I want to emphasise on
Highlight : I used markdown to make highlight and to make reference.

Other markdowns you can also use are :
Align left , align right, italize , bold italize, tables and many more.

220BFFCE-5B97-44C4-8C18-A016590CE451.png

HOW I MADE MY POST THUMBNAIL

I used Canva to design my thumbnail. The whole process what’s quite fast and simple.

*First, I laughed my Canva app

* I went to the template session and selected the template I wanted to use for my design

  • From there I started editing the template by changing the picture and putting mine there

  • Then I changed the writings and used the words I desired ( Newbie initiative task 2, dos and Don’ts of hive, markdowns and tutorials)

  • Then I adjusted the font size and changed the font.

*From there, I saved my final work and copied the link to use as my source

To conclude, I would like to thank the beautiful people behind the newbies initiative for their good works and guidance.

Team leader @depressedfuckup, thank you for your guidance.
This is my work. 😅

This brings us to the end of my task. I hope you enjoued reading and you learnt something from it.
Thank you

all images used are from canva

divider

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency