Practical Over Theory - My Idea For Education System

For one who has gone through low level and high level schooling, both in private and public school, I think I know enough to say that Nigerian schools are lacking in a lot of ways that removing just one thing may not be do much for the system.

Regardless of that, there's always a step to everything and I think if I'm able to remove one thing and add one to the school system, students will have a better school experience than they do now. Although there will be other things that needs to be given attention to.

20231031_133248_0000.jpg
Image designed here

There are a lot of things I'd want to remove and a lot I want to add but I'll be focusing on the ones that affected me more as a student when I was still schooling.

As an aspiring doctor student, I've been in the science classes and departments all my school life and if there's one thing every science student needs most importantly, it is more than theory teachings. Doing practicals and exercising on what had been taught in writing is the best way to help a student be better at what he or she aspires to know.

Well, that is one thing I lacked as a student. Maybe it's just the schools I attended or it's a general issue. All the schools I went to, had little or no equipment for practical sections. Even when there are exams for practical, they made us give formulated figures to pass. We didn't get to do real practicals to help us understand what we are studying for.

If I were to remove one thing and add something, I'll remove too much theory teachings and add more practicals to the school system.

Even for non science students like Law or literature, they need practicals to try their learning abilities if they are doing well enough to go into the labour market after graduation. What happens when we find a science student in his final year finding it hard to use an equipment he or she is supposed to know well enough how to use.

During my IT period, I can still remember how the supervisor formulated figures for hospital results with the excuse that she is well experienced and know how to figure things out without using machines or equipments. It's funny that she does that without considering the students who lack the experience and needs to use every equipment they could get in making their results.

I won't blame the teachers or supervisors, it is the school system that seem to put less importance to the practical aspects of education I blame. The school system would be much better if teachers are made to say less in class and just focus more on showing students what they were trying to say.

There are a lot of practical ways to teach and make students study life much easier, the school system needs to know that and adopt as many as possible. One of the many ways will be having good practical equipments for each subjects or courses.

Even though this addition would cost more money from students/parents, I think it's better to spend so much for good results than spend average and get almost nothing.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency