My Mental Health, My Priority

Have you found yourself in this situation before?...

Seeing an interesting movie but you're actually not following what is going on in it.

Or listening to someone talk but nothing was taken into your brain, you forget everything said.

Or having a hard time doing the most simplest things that should be done.

I've been in all situations and I tell you, it is the height of it for me. If I don't fight myself, I really can not imagine what happens next because I want to believe there is nothing that would make me thing of taking my life or crying nonstop or shutting the world out of my sight. I love my life so much that these situations don't last long for me once I notice it, I fight very hard on them and free myself.

jpg_20230524_191752_0000.jpg
Image designed here

Many people give long speeches, preach so much about caring for one's health (mostly about the physical) and little is being said about the mental health and if I'm to go the extra length, the spiritual health is neglected too in some cases. I feel those who take full care of their spiritual health would have total control over their physical and mental health naturally as it goes down to the conviction and priority set up.

I can't count the number of times I've gone through some news of people taking their lives out of depression. It is mainly because they have no mental health attitude or habit, some lacked it from child upbringing and some just meet some life difficulties and couldn't speak up before it consumed them. In any case, I'd say mental sickness is the one humans are more prone to if it isn't placed as a priority to keep in check.

My nature is so much against any mental sickness and I'm so grateful for that but then, it is impossible that a human wouldn't face a breaking point and try to get out of it. Some would find their way out, others would develop a bad habit from it and a lot more would harm themselves even more and may loss their lives in the process. The worse scene I've witness of depression is a lady using sharp objects on her skin to feel pain so the one she's having in her heart would be lesser to bear. As funny and scary as it sounds, it is happening to many people.

Harming oneself out of depression or any mental sickness... Our mental health shouldn't be taken lightly at all. Here are a few things as seen in the image I deigned, which I do to keep sane when I could feel my breaking points close by.

I smile as much as I can: I won't lie that I smile always because sometimes I just find myself not looking bright and when I realize it, I try to smile again and one of the best ways I get my smile back is by reminiscing about a funny memory, watching funny videos or listening to my favourite music folder. Many people do say I smile too much as if I have no problems to worry about, well I'm always glad when I hear them say that. It only means my problem isn't weighing me down and would definitely be gone.

I rest as much as I can: It was hard to grow this habit but when I did, it did more magic on my mental health than I had ever imagined. A little sleep can boost my morale so much more than smiling or staying awake to see good movies, I can bet on that. Before now, I would feel sick if I try to sleep or rest when it isn't night time but it isn't same anymore. I feel much better both physically and mentally when I take some time out to relax or sleep.

I try to have fun as much as I can: I do this mainly by doing whatever I enjoy doing and it brings some fulfillment to me in the midst of difficulties, how amazing can it get?! One of the fun things I've come to enjoy doing when I'm down is writing out my feelings out here on Hive. I also sing a lot to have fun especially with anyone who'd care to sing with me. Having fun has boost my morale in so many hard situations I find myself. Eating good food is also another thing I do too.

I think positive: My mum did her best in making this habit become part of me, if one could go mad from negative thinking, I'd have gone mad a long time ago 😂 I literally never thought of positive things until mum and a few people I met changed that about me and it has helped my mental health significantly. By thinking positive, it makes me worry less and I try to pray often to stay connected to those positive thoughts... It works like magic.

My mental health is a priority and I wish to keep it that way even for my family, friends and future family... It is important I learn to have it as an habit so I could teach those around me. Mental health plays a great role on how healthy the physical body would be, they are all connected so precautions should be taken for all of them equally.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency