Accused Of Larceny - Prank Gone Wrong

All my life, I've rarely fall into situations that I'm accused wrongly of something maybe because I tend to be myself more anywhere I am or I'm simply not the trouble looking kind who would do anything I could possibly be accused of. The most common thing I've been accused of is lying and it happens mostly when I'm actually saying the truth. No one accuses me when I really tell a lie and it's surprising how that happens 😅

Well, there's one situation that is more memorable because of how it happened and what I learnt from it.

jpg_20230602_075350_0000.jpg
Image designed here

I was accused wrongly because I decided to a play a prank I had never done before

A friend of mine begged me to go with her to a birthday party she was invited to. You know how it feels wrong to go for a party you were not invited to? I felt that too but she kept begging and assuring me that it was okay for uninvited guests to attend too and she was going to always be around me to avoid any form discrimination for not being invited. She agreed to do the dishes at home for the week (we were living together at that time), I agreed.

So I went to a party I wasn't invited to 🥲

We got there, it was a little late in the evening so I was happy not many would recognize my face to say I'm not one of them. I kept walking around my friend, anywhere she was, you'd find me there just to avoid any form of recognition in her absence. The party got fun when everyone began to dance.

I don't know how to dance and my friend is a dance lover and she do it so well so that was the time we separated. She refused to sit back and watch like me so I was sitting alone watching them break their bones dancing. It was fun until they started with their erotic dancing, the usual you'll see in birthday parties with just young boys and girls so I stopped looking to do something else on my phone.

Then I saw that my friend left her favourite bracelet on the drinking table, she would never lose it that easily. It was both surprising and fun for me as I was able to get a hold of it to prank her. I took it and placed it in my bag awaiting when she would come look for it with her tired body and the plan was to hold it until the next morning to surprise her with it, she loved that bracelet so much... I still don't know why until now.

So I actually picked and kept my friend's friend's bracelet in my bag

I didn't think of it to be someone else's since it looked so much alike and I really would have thought more about it that my friend would never place her bracelet that carelessly but since I wasn't seeing her on the dance floor, I took it that the bracelet wasn't on her wrist but with me, in my bag. Her friend came back to the drinking seat where I was first before a few other friends came to join her after dancing so much.

I couldn't say a word to them since I wasn't acquainted with them, I just kept hoping my friend would come back so I could suggest going home to her. And I was too excited to watch her come look for her favourite bracelet. At that time, her friend began to look for something which I was so sure it couldn't be what I placed in my bag 🥲 if only I knew.

The bracelet was found in my bag and I was accused of Larceny

After searching for a short while, her other friends suggested to check the bags on that seat and I voluntarily gave mine for the search still thinking the bracelet in my bag was for friend. They found what they were looking for and began to stare at me... Yes, that thief look 😩 I felt so ashamed as if I really did stole it. I tried to explain but no words were coming out of my mouth even though I explained from my heart 🤣

My friend took that time to come seat back and she was told that her friend which was me, stole the celebrant's bracelet and my friend looked at me with surprise because it was obvious I wouldn't do such a thing to her. She saw the bracelet and showed them hers, almost the same thing but the celebrant's own had some more shinning stuffs on it. They all got to understand that I was only trying to keep my friend's item safe (even though it was actually a prank on my end lol).

The celebrant apologized after pointing out that I really didn't hide my bag away for the search which would have been suspicious. The other girls apologized and my friend promised to more dishes for another week so I was appeased 🥲 I'm an easy one right? I understand but it was really fine.

I learnt my lessons already so such a situation would almost never happen again. I've learned not to play pranks, it doesn't favour me and I don't go to parties I'm not invited to except on very rare occasions.

Special note: Larceny is another word for theft that is done without using force or any form of violence.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
45 Comments
Ecency