What does the future hold?

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

I believe everyone at one point or another have thought about what their future will look like (or likely be) and if you haven't done so, then you have a big problem. Why do I say this? Because not thinking about where you will likely be in the future basically means you don't have any dreams or aspirations in life; you don't have anything you're looking forward to in the future, isn't that a dangerous way to live?

I have thought a lot about my future and it started from childhood. Most of the time, I daydream and create wonderful (and sometimes ridiculous) scenarios of what my future will look like, I have everything carefully planned out like a 5-star architect. But as time went on, those plans and dreams passed through several changes and it's mostly because of life experiences.

I remember in one of my earlier dreams, I saw myself being a world-renowned mechanical engineer who build cars for famous car brands like Ferrari, and Lamborghini but later on, that dream changed and I saw myself as a doctor, but did any of that happened? Well, considering what I'm considering studying in school (aquaculture), I'm quite sure I won't be a doctor in the future 😆

But as I left my childhood years behind, my prediction of the future became more streamlined and I came up with realistic goals and dreams which will help me shape my future. This plan has several fallbacks and alternate variations because I'm a person who doesn't believe things go exactly the way we plan them all the time, anything can happen that will force us to change plans and it's best to be prepared with an alternate before that happens.


Image by macrovector on Freepik

The success of my dream is tied to one goal; becoming a professional computer programmer/website developer. I settled for this goal back in 2020 during the peak of the COVID-19 lockdown after I realized I love it more than graphics design (which I was doing at that time). One thing I love about working as a programmer is the flexibility; you can work from anywhere! (Remote work).

I have pictured myself in a well-furnished apartment stocked with food and drinks, my workstation set up in one of the rooms which I have turned into my office, constant power supply courtesy of solar power and inverter, a sitting room with a big smart TV, the latest PlayStation console (will I even have time for games?) and some other minor details which I haven't paid much attention to because they will just fall into place later on.

This is just one of the variations that will occur in my country (Nigeria). Another one is that I have relocated to a foreign country because a company I applied to for a job offered me a work Visa to come over there (I will actually love to work for Google). The setup will basically be similar to the Nigeria version but it will just be a different environment. There are still some other variations but I wouldn't want to make this article very long by talking about all of them.

Why these deductions?

Computer programming is one field I absolutely love and I enjoy it very much. When I started it in 2020, I dedicated most of my time to it and even had to stay off social media for several months all because I was taking coding courses and tutorials every day and I didn't want distractions.


Image by DCStudio on Freepik

I have read and listened to a lot of experiences of successful programmers and most of them also talked about the challenges they faced which are enough to discourage many people from pursuing this career path but as for me, I am not deterred, in fact, I saw it as a motivation to keep pushing and put in my best. But even as they talked about the challenges, they also talked about their success and some things that are common in their stories; hard work, dedication, patience, and the will to never stop learning.

Right now, I had to pause my programming journey because it is affecting my academic life at the university. As I said before, I'm studying aquaculture at the university and it doesn't relate much to programming (computer science), so it's very challenging to study both at the same time. But luckily for me, this year is my last one at the university and by the grace of God, I will be graduating before the end of the year.

Once I'm done with school, I'm going to put all my effort into becoming a programmer. When I have become very confident in my skills, I will start applying for jobs and from what I have heard so far, getting a job as a programmer is a very daunting task but if other people can pass through that process and become successful, so can I. Successfully getting a job comes with 2 options; working remotely or getting a work visa and traveling abroad, and now you know why I talked about those two variations earlier.

I can only predict and pray things to go according to plan, the rest will be up to God because only He knows what the future holds. There are so many factors out of my power that can affect my plans but the least I can do is work on the things I can control which are my time, dedication, and discipline. With all these, I do hope things go according to plan and I end up in the future I have dreamt.

Thanks for reading

Connect with me on:
Twitter: @kushyzeena
Readcash: @kushyzee

Lead image: Image by Freepik
Edited with Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency