Physical Education Exercise: An adventure that whetted my appetite.

pexels-photo-7462557.jpeg

A lot can be achieved through exercise and the desire to take this seriously is something so many people were lucky to learn from their time in an academic environment. Seriously, some schools do a real job of getting students well-informed about relevant studies that fit into Physical Education.

Other schools take it to the next level by going above and beyond the classroom study of Physical Education. I've seen and heard of schools that have decent football field, track field, volleyball courts and other facilities that make it easy for interested students to learn and practice any sports of their choice.

Did I do Physical Education during High school?

Hell Yeah! Throughout my school life, I genuinely had my fair share of experience in Physical Education. It was a huge part of our academic system in Nigeria and I enjoyed every bit of it during my years in Primary school. However, that wasn't the case when I got into high school.

Don't get it twisted though... The high school I attended has a lot of facilities for physical education and we had a very energetic and enthusiastic 'Game Master' who was in charge of the practical side of our physical education. We called the man 'Bournvita'.

To be fair, I had all the bolts and nuts needed to make Physical Education enjoyable to me, but I just wasn't in the right state of mind to enjoy it.

My high school back then was a boarding school and as a boarder, life was already tough. Hunger was a big deal and my provisions only lasts for a few weeks, each term. In addition to that, we always had to deal with the fact that senior students didn't allow us to breathe. As if that wasn't enough headache, my academic performance weren't encouraging.

I spent 4 years of High school in a boarding school and I didn't enjoy participating in any Physical Education exercise, especially when my grade depended on those exercises. However, I transferred to a different school in a different State for the last 2 years of my High school education and the experience was completely different.

The facilities for the practical side of Physical Education in the new school weren't as sophisticated as the previous one. We didn't have a football team or any team per se that was predominantly carved out for any particular Physical Education exercise. However, I was genuinely interested in not just the classroom Physical Education exercise, but also the practicals.

Something must have changed, right?

Yeah! I know the exact thing that changed.

You see, the previous school was an 'only boys' school, but the new one is mixed. I remember we had a ratio of 3 girls to a guy in the school and I was a young lad that just survived the insanity of a very strict boarding school. I was out there to go on an adventure and part of the adventures that whetted my appetite is Physical Education exercises like sprinting, playing football, Push-ups, Jogging, etc.

Did I learn anything about myself by actively getting involved in PE exercises?

This is funny because aside from doing PE exercises for fun, I started taking PE exercises seriously because it felt good to be known as someone that's good in dis or that. But, as I spent more time on these, I got to learn SO MUCH about myself.

One of the things I learned is that I'm a very disciplined person and there is no limit to how far I can stretch myself just to get things done. Even when I hated going for early morning jogs, I still did it regardless because I knew how beneficial it was to my physical well-being.

Another thing I learned is to be grateful for my body type. Yeah, I'm a tall black dude. And I have a body that responds well to mild workouts. I've never had to drill myself in a gym just to build my body. All I need are mild workout with very good discipline towards the nutrients I take. That's usually enough to keep me in very good shape. Hehe.

I'm done bragging. C'ya.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments
Ecency