Learning can get harder or easier.

priscilla-du-preez-XkKCui44iM0-unsplash.jpg

"Is learning that hard?" is something I've had to think about a lot of time because I'm someone who wants to learn so much about the weirdest things you can possibly think of. In my experience, I've come to understand that the best way to understand how hard or easy learning can be is by looking at how things work in a classroom environment.

When you are positioned as a classroom teacher and you have to go through an essay you gave to your students, that's exactly when you will see the difference between a well-written essay and a poorly written one. The well-written essays are easy to mark because everything is nicely done. But, for the poorly written ones? Oh, my God! The whole essay just doesn't make any sense.

What would you do in that position?

You try to teach the students the right way to go about their essay writing. They need the right words when forming sentences. They need to phrase their sentences properly. The order of the sentences in each paragraph has to be right. With all these in place, a really bad essay can become really good and if they work towards it, they will surely learn.

The problem though is that some students will learn while others will continue to present poorly written essays. For those that learn, they will say that learning is easy. But those who fail to learn for whatever reason, will always tell you that learning is hard.

In my case, I know that learning in itself is hard. Now, we can talk about the factors that will make it easier or harder.

They are;

1. Who are you learning from? If you want to learn MMA from a dude who can't hold his fist for 5 seconds, you will end up learning NOTHING. So, whenever you are learning anything in school, from your mentor, from a friend, on YouTube, podcast, or from Google, if the person you are trying to learn from doesn't know what he/she is teaching, it will make your learning harder. The same applies to vice versa.

2. Are you really making an effort to learn? You want to be multilingual. So, you paid and bookmarked a lot of tutorial videos on YouTube about the language you want to learn. You created an account on Duolingo and even subscribed for the premium package. You do all these which are commendable, but you don't go back to watch the videos you bookmarked. You don't check into Duolingo to learn that new language. Why wouldn't learning be hard for you?


These things are no-brainers. Learning is truly hard but when you are making a genuine effort to learn and you are learning from the right source, it will become so much easier to learn. This applies to all areas of life even in behaviors.

studio-republic-qeij_dhDhGg-unsplash.jpg

I will wrap things up by highlighting two things;

The easiest thing I learned is to say the truth at all times and at all costs. I started learning about that from a very young age and I'm still learning it. However, the reason I see it as an easy thing "for me" to learn is that it's harder for me to look you in your face and lie than to say the truth.

Meanwhile, the most difficult thing for me to learn is a new language. I'm not even kidding. I lived in the Northern part of Nigeria for a year and I can't say "My name is K" in Hausa, their native language. Now, I'm living in the SouthWestern part of Nigeria where they speak Yoruba. Guess what? I still can't say "My name is K" in the language. Haha. Why? Because I've never really tried to learn it.

So, regardless of how difficult it can be to learn something, it's only hard to learn it if I don't make an effort to do so.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Unsplash
Additional Image is also taken from Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency