NEWBIES INITIATIVES TASK 3: HIVE KEYS AND SECURITY

Hello everyone in the wonderful hive blockchain. I hope you're all doing well and enjoying the weather wherever you are.


Image designed by @projectmamabg

Joining the newbies initiatives is one of the best things that ever happened to me since I joined hive. I can't even count how many times I've said it, and I know I'll continue to say it. The newbie's initiatives program is a very big blessing, we the members are so lucky to be part of this program. I'm also thankful to those working behind cameras to make sure we grow our accounts on this blockchain.

Ever since we started this program, I'm proud to say I've learned a lot. Although I still have a long way to go, I know I'll scale through as long as I'm determined and consistent.

The last two tasks were very interesting, especially the last one where we talked about markdowns and exploring the blockchain. I remember trying a lot of new things; making my texts bigger, bolder, italicizing my texts and all.

In this article, I'll participate in task 3 of the newbies initiative program; Hive keys and security.

Now, let's talk outside the Blockchain. The outside world is prowling with scammers; internet fraudsters who know nothing but to reap people of their hard-earned money. I remember the time my cousin got ripped. He saved his account number and details on his phone. They stole his phone and wiped the money in his account. I don't know how they did it, but with the way they wiped the account in no time, you could tell they are experts.

To prevent "stories for the gods" it is best to keep our keys safe. These scammers are also prowling on the blockchain, looking for gullible people to devour. This is why you have to secure your keys and be careful where you input them.

Personally, the main reason why people fall for these scams is because they are ignorant. I almost fell for a phishing link when I joined hive newly, thanks for a friend who warned me about it before I clicked the link.

Now, to answer the questions.

WHAT ARE THE BEST WAYS OF KEEPING OUR KEYS SAFE?

<sAs I said earlier, if you don't want your sweat, time and effort to go in vain, you have to keep your keys safe and be careful where you store them.

Personally, I'm against the idea of screenshoting your keys. You can't trust people, and if you're the type that gives people your phone, you should also frown against the idea of screenshoting your keys.

SAVING THEM OFFLINE\ IN A PAPER

I know this might sound old school; old fashioned. But would you rather try old school or loose your money to scammers. I'm sure you'll go for the former. If you're not the lazy type, writing down your keys on a piece of paper shouldn't take you long.

HOW DO YOU CHECK YOUR RECOVERY ACCOUNT AND WHAT PROCESS IS NEEDED TO RECOVER YOUR ACCOUNT?

Do you know how to check your recovery account? If your account gets hacked or you lost your keys, do you know the process needed to recover your account? Don't feel bad if don't, I also didn't know anything about account recover before task 3 of the newbies initiative program.

For you to recover your account, a trustee is needed. A trustee is an account you can contact to help you recover your account when it is hacked or compromised. It is very important to choose someone you can contact easily, someone who is not gullible to fall for phishing links and other type of scams.

Follow these steps to check your recovery account

Step 1

Login to Peakd frontend and click on three dots (...) next to settings

Step 2

After you must've clicked on the three dots, it'll display some functions. Click on keys and permission

Step 3

After that, click on the recovery account. As you can see, my recovery account is ocdb and I know they are very trusted and reachable.

I can also change my recovery account by clicking on the blue or purple background.

Process needed to recover your account

As I said earlier, you need a trustee to recover your account.

Step 1

Click on the link below;
https://reazuliqbal.com/HiveAccountRecovery/

Click on recover account.

Step2

After you must've inputted the necessary things, you'll need to generate a new password to get a new owner key. After you must've generated the password, it is important to save it somewhere before sending it to your trustee.

Step 3

After you must've generated the password and gotten your owner key, send it to your trustee.

Step 4

Input the account to recover, new password, and recent password. After you must've done that, click on "recover account"

WHOM DID I CHOOSE AS MY ACCOUNT TRUSTEE AND WHY

As I said earlier, it is best to choose someone reliable and reachable as your trustee which is why I chose ocdb.

Why did I choose ocdb as my trustee? Because they are reliable and reachable. I can easily get to them through the discord server and they are always ready to help.

THE VARIOUS TYPES OF KEYS AND THEIR USES

MEMO KEY

The memo key is used to send private messages. @samostically also said in his lecture that the memo key can also be used for transactions.

POSTING KEYS

As the name implies, the posting key is used to make posts and comments, and vote on the blockchain. The posting key is limited to monetary transactions, that means if someone gets hold of your posting key, the person cannot mess with your wallet.

When I joined hive, I was surprised when Blackman 15 from the ecency hangout asked for members' posting keys. It was later that I realized that he just wanted to use it for upvotes.

ACTIVE KEYS

This is the opposite of posting keys. It is used for monetary transactions like to power up/power down, exchange tokens, etc.

OWNER KEY

The owner key is the most important of all keys and should be stored safely. It is used to reset all other keys

MASTER KEY

Master key can be used to recover your passwords if you lose them.

Appreciation

Thanks to the @newbies-hive for all they are doing for the members. Thanks to the @hive-learners community for their amazing initiatives. Thanks to @starstrings01 and to my amazing team leader @nkemakonam89 and to other team leaders. Thanks to @samostically for taking his time to lecture us.

Thanks to the curators @theycallmedan and the @aliento team

Thanks for reading ☺️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency