NEWBIES INITIATIVE TASK 1: MY HIVE GOALS AND STRATEGIES FOR ACHIEVING THEM

Hello everyone. I hope you're all doing well. It is so nice to be part of the newbies initiative programs. A lot of us enrolled in the program, but few of us were chosen. I'm so glad to be among those that were chosen to benefit from this wonderful initiative.

I joined hive on June 01, 2022. That was about four months ago. I had nobody to guide me and tell me how things worked, so I had to do things on my own. I went from one user’s DM to another, asking them for help.

I'm thankful to those that helped me (individuals and communities), I can proudly say, I've learned a lot of things and I've also improved on my skills ever since I joined this wonderful blockchain. But even with what I've learned so far, I'm still a newbie to the hive world. I still have a lot of things to learn and that is why I enrolled in this wonderful program; I'm a newbie who is willing to learn.

Ever since I joined hive, the main things I planned to do was to improve my writing skills and grow my account. I wanted to be known by a lot of users on this blockchain. But I had just one problem; “how would I achieve these plans”. I kept thinking if my plans would remain a dream or if I’d achieve it. Yesterday’s class by @starstrings01 was such an eye-opener.

His lecture was so interesting and educational. It gave me an in-depth-knowledge and the necessary things I need to achieve my dreams. Now, I can boldly say I’m a step higher and my plans to achieve my goals will definitely come to a reality.

In this article, I’ll talk about my hive goals for the next 7 weeks and my strategies for achieving them.

What are the benefits of setting goals

Goal setting is very important. Not only in hive, but in other aspects of life. We all have goals in life. Our goals are different and the strategies we plan to achieve them are also different.

Personally, I feel the moment you sit down, think, and start setting the goals you’re already a step ahead. A step ahead to achieve your goals.

Setting goals helps you stay focused. This is one of the main importance of setting goals. I’m sure when you want to achieve your dreams, you don’t want other irrelevant things to make you lose focus. That is why it is important to set goals; it keeps you on the right path.

A big motivation. Another importance of setting goals is that it is a form of motivation. I remember there was a time in high school; It was during the exam period. I was so determined that I wrote my goals (the grade I wanted to get) on a piece of paper and pasted it on my door. So every time I see that paper, it motivates me to read and work harder. Setting your hive goals will motivate you to put in the effort and work harder.

Setting my hive goals gives me an easier way on how to achieve them. ” I have goals, but how do I want to achieve them?”, this is another reason why it is very important to set goals; not just goals, but SMART GOALS

WHAT ARE MY HIVE GOALS?

Now that I have talked about the importance of setting goals, what are my goals? What do I want to achieve here on hive in the next 7 weeks? Just like @starstrings01 said it is important to not just set anyhow goals, but the main thing is to set SMART GOALS so in all, I’ll make sure my goals are smart and not irrelevant.

HIVE POWER GOAL

Just like starstrings said in his lecture, it is very important to grow your hive power on hive. Why? Because by doing so, we are making a name on the blockchain, and we’ll be respected too. Also growing your hive power makes it a good measure to join a curation trail. It also shows that I have been consistent and contributing greatly to the blockchain.

Presently, my Hive Power is 317.127, and by the end of this initiative by goal is to build my hive power to 600

ENGAGEMENT/COMMENT GOAL
When I joined hive newly, I read @starstrings01 post where he talked about the importance of engagement and why it is important to make quality comments and since then I’ve been trying to keep up with that. I’m ashamed to say I’ve not been very faithful to that. Although I make quality comments and interact with communities, I feel it is not enough.

One of the people I admire on the blockchain is @nkemakonam89, and one of the reasons why I admire her is that she is an engagement queen.

Presently, my total comment is 882, by the end of the program, my engagement/comment goal is to make 2500 comments.

MY FOLLOWERS GOAL

Gaining more followers means I’m interacting well with other authors and communities. Presently, my followers are 38, by the end of this program, my hive followers goal is to have 90 followers.

MY REPUTATION GOAL

Reputation shows that you’re being consistent and posting quality articles. Presently, my reputation is 62, and by the end of this program, my reputation goal is 65.

CONSISTENCY GOALS

I believe in consistency; I believe consistency is a way to achieve your goals. My consistency goal is to post at least once every day. Although I have been doing this before now, I'm going to put more effort into my posts.

What strategies do I want to put in to achieve my goals

Now that I’ve talked about the importance of achieving goals, I’ve also listed my goals. How do I want to achieve them? A goal is not Smart if you don’t know or put down how you want to achieve them. To make my goals realistic and attainable, it is very important that I put down and know my strategies.

MY STRATEGY TO ACHIEVE 600 HIVE POWER GOAL

Presently, I have 317.127 HP, which means my goal is to acquire 282.873 by the end of this program. To do this I plan to make quality posts and post in the community where I’m good at. I believe consistency and quality posts are the best way to achieve this goal and that is exactly what I’m going to do.

MY STRATEGY TO ACHIEVE ENGAGEMENT/COMMENT GOAL

My goal is to achieve a total of 2500 comments by the end of this program. Is that too much? Nope, I’m determined, I’ll surely achieve it.

To achieve this, my strategy is to make at least 35 comments per day. 35X 49 (7 weeks)= 1715 + 882 (my total comment presently)= 2597. That is even 97 comments more.

Okay, so how do I plan to make 35 comments a day?

10 comments in the @hive-learners community every day.
10 comments in homesteading community
5 comments in the Worklife community

5 comments in the hive pet community

And the last 5 in other communities that I’ll engage with.

MY STRATEGY FOR FOLLOWERS GOAL

Presently, I have 38 followers and I plan to achieve 90 followers. The best way to do this is to engage with other authors and make quality comments on their posts.

MY STRATEGY FOR REPUTATION GOAL

Your reputation increases when you get upvotes, so my strategy to achieve this is to engage well with other users so I’d be noticed and also to write quality posts and submit them in the right community.

WHAT CAN HINDER ME FROM ACHIEVING MY GOALS

ELECTRICITY
Yes, this should come first as it is the biggest factor that can prevent me from achieving my goal. Here in my country, electricity is not stable and my area is actually worse when it comes to electricity.

If rain should fall today, the next time I should be expecting power I’m my area is after 3 or 4 days. Sometimes 1 week. Yes! It is as bad as that. But luckily, I have a gen and I think I need to buy a power bank.

My other works

I work as a gym secretary, I also work in the salon, and also as a chess instructor. I’ve been writing every day on hive even with this work, but it’d be very hard for me to manage it all. But one thing is sure; I’m determined!

CONCLUSION AND APPRECIATION

My gratitude goes to the Newbies Initiative Team for this beautiful, interesting, and educational program. I know it is not easy, but with all that you are doing behind cameras; I saw a big thank you to you all.

I’m thankful to my boss, @starstrings01, @theycallmedan, @aliento team, @projectmamabg, and also, the group leader, especially my group leader, @nkemakonam89

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
85 Comments
Ecency