I Got My Greatest Compliment From A Cute 11 Year Old Girl

Hello everyone in the wonderful hive blockchain. I hope you're all doing well and enjoying the weather wherever you are. Welcome to my blog.

Image designed by me using canva

Compliments go a long way in making people happy. You don't have to buy the most expensive wristwatch or the fanciest jewelry to show your appreciation.

Words are pretty amazing. Words when spoken can do a lot. When articulated the right way, it can mend a broken heart, and at the same time when spoken wrongly can destroy a planet. If you're a boss, just one word or a sentence from you can make your employees feel happy. “Well done” “good job” and “you did well”. Saying these can go a long way and do a lot.

I'm the kind of person that is always mindful of what I say. I'm always careful about what I say, especially when I'm angry. I don’t like hurting people’s feelings with my words, instead, I prefer to put a smile on their faces with my words.

As I said earlier, compliments can go a long way. It can do a whole lot of things. A few days ago, I logged in to my Facebook account. While I was reading memes and watching reels, I came across a YouTuber’s video (he shared that video on his Facebook page). The guy is a Youtuber who goes around complimenting people and making them happy. You could tell that those people were really happy after he complimented them. “I love your dress”. Do you know what can put someone in a good mood? Probably the person hasn't even smiled for days and saying that can actually put a smile on their face. In the video I watched, he complimented a woman’s dress and hair “hello there ma'am, red looks good on you.. And that hair is smashing”. The woman smiled so much that she was even about to cry. “I've been having it young for days, thanks for making my day,” she said.

The guy didn't buy her anything expensive. But he made her day just by complimenting her hair and dress. That shows how important compliments are.

Business owners wonder why their employers are lagging. The funny thing is that they’ve never complimented them for the work they do. One of the reasons workers show positive attitudes to work is when they receive nice compliments from their bosses.

I've worked in a lot of places. I've worked with different bosses. Shortly after I graduated from high school, I got a teaching job in an elementary school close to where I lived. I worked there for more than three months, and throughout my stay there, my boss never complimented me. She was always complaining about one thing or the other. Do you think workers will be happy to see or work with such a boss?

My Greatest Compliment


Source

My greatest compliment didn't come from any of my bosses. In fact, it wasn't an expensive wristwatch, and neither was it an expensive gift. I received my greatest compliment from a 10-year-old girl.

Do you have younger siblings? Do you know the ones that’ll always disturb you with assignments? Yeah, those ones.

I'm the last born in my family. Although it’d have been pretty nice if I wasn't the last born😂. I have 3 elder siblings and no younger ones at all. I know what you must be thinking. “I'm the last born, I'm lazy and enjoying it 😂?”. You see, a lot of people don't know what the lastborns go through. We wash plates, run errands, and all. Do you think that is easy?

Even though I was the last born, the neighbors' kids always disturb me with assignments. Sometimes I hide (don't blame me) or tell them to give it to any of my older siblings. But there's this girl that I always help. I have a soft spot for her (I don't know why).

Her name is Gbemisola. My mom (a nurse) took her delivery. Her mum gave birth to her in my parent’s house. She's a pretty interesting kid. She likes playing (she's just like me). And one thing I like about her is that she's always ready to learn. A few years ago, she couldn't speak English well (her parents are illiterate), but she always tried and tried to join a few sentences together. Even though people made fun of her, she didn't give up. Today, Gbemisola speaks English fluently.

Gbemisola grew up with us. She's like a family member. We play a lot. We take pictures and try out weird Snapchat filters.

Even though she disturbs me with assignments every day, I never for once rejected them. I was always ready to help her out. I did it out of free will, I have never for once collected anything from her or her parents.

She came to me on a Saturday evening with loads of assignments. Quantitative, verbal reasoning, and all. We spent about 1 hour and after we finished and she was about to leave, she turned back and said: “brother favor èshey gan, you're the best (Thank you bro favor, you're the best”.

I was really happy that I didn't even know when I smiled. Her compliment made me put more effort into her assignments.

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency