Can We Live Without Technology For A Week?

September 6, 2022

What if we take a break from technology even just for a week, could we make it?

It was once a topic in this community but I failed to participate. Remembering that question, I opted to compose this content to share my view on this topic.

Technology is indeed part of our lives and it seems tough to be taken off from us. From the morning we wake up, at home, at work, at school, and until night, we are always connected to technology, physically, mentally, and emotionally. It makes our world more comfortable and our work much easier to handle. Despite the disadvantages, we can't deny the fact that the advantages are pretty massive and truly helpful to our day-to-day life.

And it seems that our connection with technology is much stronger than with our God. Would you admit it? Instead of opening a bible first thing in the morning, what do we open? It's our phones to check our social media statuses. Guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, aren't we?

Even if the bible has an E-book version that we could open anywhere at any time, we still ignore it as we surf Facebook and Twitter more than it. And I must admit that I do blogging more than reading a Bible. We always reason out the lack of time, but we always have a lot of time online on different platforms from morning to night.

Even those working at home sometimes tend to spend more time on screen than giving more quality time to their families. Am I right? Resting time is lesser as it is often spent slacking in front of computers.

Do you think you can take a break from technology nowadays with the fact that we are into blogging?

But what if I can? Of course, I can, we can.

IMG_20220902_155610.jpg

Long ago, I set in mind that once I go back to my homeland, I would give a break from any form of technology. Staying at our farm for a week is probably the best way. No electricity, just inside nature for a week and doing things beneficial to my physical and mental health.

I can't deny the fact that my phone, which is a product of technology, has helped me in many ways. Blogging has been possible because of it. And through this, I learned a lot of things which include crypto investing and trading.

With the knowledge I acquired through blogging using my phone, I could say that they are all beneficial to me, especially in the financial aspect. The once noob (still a noob in some aspects though) has at least, learned something new that I haven't learned or encountered before.

However, due to these side hustles online, I tend to keep my eyes on the screen and my hands on my phone most of the time. With that, some parts of my health aspect have been compromised and those pain and discomforts are still recurring at times.

If I will take a break even just for a week, it would probably help a lot in recovering the muscles and veins that have been jeopardized due to prolonged usage of the phone. Most of all, my eyes could get a great rest from the screen and red strains would probably diminish. Yet, it would definitely decrease my blogging earnings and the possibility of being left behind by a bull market. That would be a beneficial consequence though as health matters more.

But one week break would be boring, what would I do?

Due to busyness and toxic work, I tend to exhaust myself and the resting time is often used in grinding online. With the absence of technology, I could certainly take a long break and allow my tired body to recuperate. I have a lot of things to do in mind in case I pursue this matter.

The first thing I will do is declutter my room. I need this because I always lack time to organize it since the time after work is always spent grinding online. In my entire life, I never read a Bible further and only a few pages. I feel guilty being a Catholic, yet I know less about the content of it. For sure, one week of reading will give me enough time to absorb more lessons and knowledge from it.

Another thing I truly want to do as I always fail to accomplish it is to pursue meditation and exercise daily. A one-week meditation and exercise would probably give me a peaceful mind and a healthier body.

It is definitely boring without any phone for a week, so that will be a perfect time to pursue hobbies like reading, cooking, art & craft, and practicing painting. No music is boring, isn't it? Maybe I can just sing? Anyway, no one will listen, lol.

I can't just abandon writing, but of course, it can be done through writing on paper. Going back to the traditional way of writing isn't bad at all. Besides, it's been a long time since I wrote a long one.

IMG_20220717_150815.jpg

Last but not the least, is, of course, traveling! Who doesn't love it anyway? I have a lot on my bucket list and I want to visit at least 3 or 4 places in a week. That would be great to be closer again to nature and wander my eyes to beautiful sceneries.

The one-week break would be focused on recuperating and restoring my health that has been compromised. Lastly, it would be great to share my stories, of course, not online, but in my diary. It's been a few years since I last updated it and I guess, it would be the perfect time to write about a lot of recent happenings and the one-week break from technology.

So those are the things I want to do. Technology indeed is too helpful to our daily lives nowadays. But, we also need to take a break from it once in a while to rest, recuperate, maybe reflect too, and achieve a peaceful mind.

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20220809_221527_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency