I HAD TO SAY GOODBYE


cleaning-5476959_640.jpg


In life there is just one thing that I just can't afford and that is me quitting but then I have been in a situation when I just have to quit and that was when I was privileged to find a job that I've always loved to do. It happened two years after I finished my secondary school, I couldn't gain admission to study at the university of my choice because there was a strike at that time. Well, I did not really look for a job though because I don't like working for people, I just used my hand work to earn a little something for myself.
20220723_162034_0002.png
But then I was informed by a sister that there was a job vacancy for a cleaner in a duplex and at that point I knew this was my opportunity to do what I always enjoyed doing without people telling me that I work too much. Luckily for me I was able to acquire the job and I started working the following day. My employer was impressed at how well I did the job and I did enjoyed so much privileges working there.


untitled.gif


I worked in that duplex for three weeks and three days in each week. At the end of the three weeks, I was able to clean every part of the house and made if look more presentable. We had an agreement that I was going to work there for one month and I will be paid approximately $12. At the end of the third week, we were already planning on relocating to a new environment and I had to tell my employer but I didn't know how to because he was asking me to even start staying at the house instead of me going home and coming back.
20220723_162034_0002.png
His marriage was coming up the previous week and that was the main reason he wanted me to stay so I could assist them in the preparations for his traditional marriage. He asked me to inform my dad about it and I agreed. When I got home that day, I was feeling a bit troubled on how I was going to settle everything because I know my dad will never agree to me staying there because he was not in support of me working as a cleaner from the start.


untitled.gif


After much thinking, I picked up my phone and gave my employer a call and told him that my dad didn't agree to the plan because we will be relocating and I also won't be able to continue working there also. My employer was quiet for some time before he said no problem. When the call ended I made a very deep sigh in relief. I was happy I was able to quit the job without getting on the bad note of my employer but then it did cost me something.
20220723_162034_0002.png
Well I didn't mind though but that was a cost anyway. I didn't ask for my salary from him, I just kept it on the low, if he wants to he can but if he does not want to, it's also okay and in the end he did not give me a compensation for what I did. Like I said, I was still satisfied by how everything played out because working at that house gave me an experience on the difference between cleaning for someone and doing it at home.
20220723_162034_0002.png
I always believe that there are some things that are worth more than money and one of them is connection. I will always choose connection over money, of course connection won't put a food on my table all the time but then I'm ready to go hungry for those days, I don't mind at all. I quit because I had to but I was not happy I did but I'm glad my quitting only had more effect on the money and not on the relationship I've built.

So what about you, have you ever had to quit anything before?

That's all my reader, until next time, stay AWESOME!!!

Thumbnail Image source || Gifs powered by tenor

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency