A UNIQUE THING ABOUT MY HOMETOWN


a-country-house-4867273_640.jpg


As a human, it's always expected that we were given birth to by another human and so on and that also help us in knowing where we are from, which I would call my a HOMETOWN. I'm human so of course I do have my hometown(s) because my dad and my mum are from two different places which also makes me a part of those places. I would have loved to talk more on my dad's hometown which I'm also a part of but then, I spent more time in my mum's hometown than my dad's. My mum is from a village called Orogun and if you don't know the place called Orogun, don't worry because that's why I'm here, to tell you about my hometown.


Just like most other hometown, my hometown is focused more on agriculture as the major source of livelihood and people are always ready to go outside the comfort of their homes to make sure they put food on the table for their families. Orogun is small town in south south region of Nigeria and they have different things that makes them stand out from other neighboring towns. Well the fact that I lived there does not mean I know everything about the Orogun culture but then there are a few things I can share with you a few things that can make you love your stay at Orogun and have so much fun for you, especially for tourists.


In Orogun, they are known for their respect for iguanas. For those of you that don't know what an iguana is, I will share a photo of it below so you can get to know at least how it looks. The iguanas in my community can be both friendly and too friendly, lol. They are very free to move around, they are not restricted to how far they move, I will call them free moving agents because that is what they truly are.


iguanas-1887_640.jpg


You know, the second time I was privileged to visit my hometown, I was a little bit scared seeing so many iguanas roaming around. There was this day when we went to visit our neighbor to watch TV and before I could realize what was happening, I saw an Iguana in the house, if only you could have seen me, I quickly jumped on my big cousin brother's body, lol. The owner of the house did not even want to chase it away but because of how scared we were, she kindly asked it to leave,just to make us feel relaxed.


There was also a time when I saw it in our public bathroom, and even our open kitchen, most of this was time we were warned not to harm it in any way. Most people of Orogun community literally worship the Iguana as they believed it helped their ancestors in time past and the best way to repay the iguanas for their help was to make their hometown a safe abode for them. And this has made the iguanas friendly to people who live there except in rare cases when they have to run away just to save themselves from people who are trying to hurt them.


The iguanas is the major thing my hometown is known for and the it's just so fascinating to behold but scary if you are scared of animals like me, hehe. I do hope I was able to give you an insight of what my hometown is like and what makes it a little bit different from others.

Until next time, stay AWESOME!!!

Thumbnail Source | Second photo Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency