Staying Safe Even In A Good Environment

Welcome To My Blog

Hello friends, Happy weekend. It's the last edition of the @hivelearners weekly prompt. Glad to participate, do well to visit my blog even as more editions of interesting topics will be posted next week.

Where we stay is important. It has a great effect on our children and the safety of your lives. I was born in a place called Diobu in Port Harcourt. Any one familiar with port Harcourt will know that it was one of the dangerous places then. It is full of cultism and walking on the street, especially early mornings and nights, is dangerous. It's very busy even even as night.

Source

I could remember when I was little I would hear noises of gun shot and we all would lock our doors and lie down. My dad did send my older sisters to boarding school because of that and because I was still little I couldn't attend a boarding school then so I would just stay with my mum.

We couldn't stay again. We had to change location and where we are currently living is fair enough. I did grow up with strict parents that would never allow us to leave the house after 7:00pm. Even though you're in the next compound or close to the house, my mum makes sure you're indoors with them except in unavoidable circumstances where you were delayed due to traffic jams back home.

It was because of the incident we experienced at our former residence and maybe because I was a girl.
In my current residence at least night here isn't bad but we are still allowed to go in two's and not too late. Except for the curfew from the state government, people are allowed to move anytime they want. That doesn't mean bad things don't happen but you still have to be security conscious.
We live in a society where unemployment has made youth enter into something they are not supposed to, so staying late at night would make you prey to them.

Currently in school and that indoors and coming back early had affecting me greatly. Once it's 8:00 pm I start feeling uncomfortable where I am except I decide to sleep over. Keeping that early home attitude has really helped me that I have never had a bad experience at night from arm robbers from street or cultist clash. Often times we hear news of two cultist fighting and how people are running, I just call my friends to check up on them because me definitely am at home 😂. Except programs that keep me outside late I barely stay out late.

In school people are still allowed to move anytime they want too but at their own risk. I live off campus and we're I live, although it's far from school it's not one of the rough places. When I was looking for an apartment I did consider that. The more dangerous places are close to school and I know staying far would cost me a lot of transportation money but I had to consider my safety first.

Thank you for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency