This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Exploring Multiple Career Paths: A Nigerian's Reality

I was going through my Facebook feed today after a long while as this is what I do in cases when I'm bored or trying to get my mind off something, in this case, it was the latter, I was on a bus trying to get to my destination and it seems like the traffic jam would take ages to clear off, interestingly, the first post I saw got my attention since it was about the most popular fashion prenuer/designer trending in Nigeria right now, trust me not to pass any stories about her especially when it's going to be something educative or inspiring.

Blue Modern Corporate Job Vacancy Instagram Post_20240615_163812_0000.png

The poster focused on how Veekee James the popular fashion designer is super and multi-talented in diverse fields, from singing, as she is a gospel artist, to acting, we have her skits to prove this, in addition to many more a good cook, she recently showcased this aspect of her skill, he further stated that it is ok to be multi-talented or be a jack of all trade as most people will put it, but it is very important for us not to lost track of our real calling which is the one that would eventually give us the big break we desire. Just like Veekee, even though she was multi-talented, her big break was fashion.

The inspirational post seems nice and quite thoughtful, and one thing it highlighted is the need to give several career choices a trial, If not for anything, living in a country like mine would automatically put you in that position, because let's imagine the current issue of minimum wage saga and the prices of the basic cost of living, it's a very meager sum for one to relax and fold their hands staying put to a job, as that would most likely end someone being frustrated and depressed, working like an elephant and feeding like an ant, the only set of people you would find sticking to one career choice, also growing and building their influence on same choice are those who are lucky enough to get a fat paycheck that covers their expenses and savings. Even at that, some still end up venturing to other side careers, Veekee James for instance, though already a big name in the fashion industry, that didn't stop her from still acting and singing which she also earns from even though it's not as much as she would get paid tor designing clothes, I guess it's the passion and fun for doing several things she loves.

Red Simple Take Control of Your Career Story (1240 x 1240 px)_20240615_164208_0000.png

I've also had my share of being a biochemist to a fashion designer and currently pursuing a program in Information technology and Data Processing all to get that big break that would give me the kind of life I desire for myself and also be a blessing to those around me, it's not easy, but that's the reality of the life we live in. If only we could achieve our big break at first trial, I bet a lot of us would have only stick to just on career, but since it isn't so, we have no choice than to keep on exploring, hopefully, we hit that big break with one possibly a plus, and for some just have a feel of the fun of exploring different careers.

Logo
Center