DiY// I made a simple shift dress with gathered sleeves

Happy Sunday lovely hivers and welcome to my blog it's so elating to have you stop by.

It's another creative Sunday episode today in the hive learners community and I will like to state with us the process of oh I made this beautiful dress made with Adire fabric, a very beautifully designed patterned fabric, originally made with a tie and dye method reason for it's name Adire it is a yoruba word that simply means

This dress is very comfy to wear, and the process of making it is very easy, as it doesn't require any lining fabric, just the Adire fabric.
The cool thing is that the dress can be worn to almost anywhere, church, Mall, date, etc.

Without further ado, let's get straight to the making process

Materials used

  • Adire fabric
  • Matching thread
    Scissors for cutting and a sewing machine.

Duration I spent two hours approximately to make this dress from start to finish.


Process

1 I started by drafting my pattern, which is a basic gown pattern, for both front and back, I joined the back together to form a single pattern.

I also cut out facing for turning their neckline

2 I cut out a 4 inches width strip with a length of 35 inches

3 I pleat the strips on the front pattern

4 next, I cut out my placket pattern, which I used to make a placket on the front bodice pattern.

5 after which I joined the front and back bodice together by the sides using the required measurement and also at the shoulders

6 I cut out the sleeves pattern in double for both sleeves, which comprises of a basic sleeve pattern and three strips of different widths but the same length,

7 I gathered the three strips on the basic sleeve, forming a three-step gathered sleeves

8 Finally, I attached the sleeves to the main bodice and hemmed the base, My dress is ready! Pretty easy and beautiful right?

Please note, all images used in this post are mine

Thank you for visiting my blog❤❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency