This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My filtered opinion.

color-ge278443eb_1280.jpg

Hello! Welcome to my blog. It's been raining since morning, the weather is chilly. Business seems to be slow. A perfect time for a filtered selfie, right? Well, this is another episode of the #hivelearner weekly topic: Filter

As beautiful and perfectly created humans are, we still have insatiable desires for perfection. The emergence of Filter has cost many to rely on its said perfection neglecting human evaluation.

Have I ever used a filter after taking a shot just to make me feel better?

Yes I have! That is, when and if I remember I have filters on my phone. I love the gloss effect when those imperfections are made perfect. I admire the results after I have buried the vulnerability behind those artificial appearances. Those blackspots, dark eye circles, wrinkles that can be meticulously crafted to make me look flawless and connect me to the kind of audience I seek.

Do you feel there is anything wrong with making use of filters?

I really don't think there is a problem with using filters except when it is overused then it becomes an issue although it is important to be aware of the effect and prospective impediment of the filter. Filter has the tendency to promote low self esteem especially in the application of complex tasks. I wouldn't advise anyone to depend on filters because it can restrict critical thinking and human judgement.

Let me tell you a story…
I met Chichi through a WhatsApp group that was organised by a particular women forum. You are to introduce yourself with a full picture of yourself, that would serve as verification. Chichi was a newbie in the group and the last person to join the group. She looked so gorgeous and light skinned, flawless face, I would say she looks so perfect. An orphanage visit was organised once every two months. Chichi and I were paired to purchase household items for the visit. So… on the day we were supposed to go to the market, we scheduled to meet at a popular filling close to the market in order to proceed to the market together.

I got there before her. We kept communicating until she was able to locate the filling station since it was her first time going to that particular market which I was very conversant with. I noticed two things: she had terrible acne which was very visible and she also had variegated skin colours more like whatsoever she was using was very harsh on skin thereby causing blemishes. We exchange pleasantries and proceeded to the market. But I couldn't help but wonder how filters could meticulously mask the reality of true images, enhancing their beauty perfectly without errors. I didn't want to ask her so she doesn't feel judged or lose her confidence and it was actually our first face to face meeting.

Chichi's deceptive appearance was indeed overdone by the use of filters. It extended beyond the digital sphere.

Social media has played a huge role in the existence of filters, people are in search of gratification, fulfilment and connection with the outside world. They can't deal with imperfections.

Image:source

This is my entry as regards hivelearners contest.