If the world stops again...

An impromptu lockdown is the last thing the world needs right now after everything we went through a few years ago, anyone who sees things from my perspective would agree with me on the fact that the world is yet to recover from the previous lockdown the Corona Virus forced on the human race. The whole was forced to shut down to avoid the spread of the virus and for the first time, I understood what a real sit-at-home order means.


Despite not praying for such the Hive Learners topic for this week has to do with an impromptu lockdown. Below is the question for W40E2.

If the world were to go into another sudden lockdown, keeping everyone indoors and not coming out. How long do you think you can survive as it is, before you would have to come outside again to either work or get food? Share with us.

20221214_095106_0000.png

Source

RNFetchBlobTmp_uqqu40gxbq79gm9vje5h5.jpg
Despite been told beforehand that there would be a total lockdown in 2020, surviving was still difficult because a lot of people depend on their daily earnings to survive, and with the restrictions, they couldn't go out to make money to put food on the table or pay their necessary bills.

A total lockdown should mean people are free from utility bills and getting support from the government should happen to relief people but it was the other way around which resulted in lots of criminal acts from people who stole from others for the sake of survival.

I have been thinking about it, if things were that difficult during a lockdown we got a notice for, what would an impromptu lockdown look like?

RNFetchBlobTmp_uqqu40gxbq79gm9vje5h5.jpg

Let me paint you a picture of what an impromptu lockdown means.

Imagine you when to bed last night with the hopes of going to work the next day or doing some other thing.

At 4 am, your phone rings and a family member tells you that a lockdown has been imposed in the country or the company you work with sent a message that all activities at work have been suspended until further notice.

RNFetchBlobTmp_uqqu40gxbq79gm9vje5h5.jpg

Staying indoor for days or even months isn't something cool for me even as an introvert, there are days when I get tired of my apartment and will feel like just staying out.

An impromptu lockdown means you have to live with what you have in the house and talking about how long I will last before going out to get things is something else because I definitely wouldn't last more than a week or less. I do my food shopping twice a month and today being the 14th of December means that I must have exhausted whatsoever foodstuff I have at home. On seeing this topic, the first thing I did was to go straight to the kitchen to check what I have at home, and luckily for me, it looks like I have excess food from my last food shopping that can sustain me for one week if there should be an impromptu lockdown.

20221214_090944_0000.png

20221214_090513_0000.png

These might not look like a lot but you will be surprised at what I achieve with all these things. I just have to activate my student lifestyle.

20221214_091811_0000.png

20221214_092321_0001.png

I can make yam porridge, fried potatoes, rice and stew, and a mixture of rice and beans, I can drink cassava flakes with fried fish, and I can as well make bitter leaf soup since I have a bitter leaf plant in my backyard. It is a game of survival and not just about getting satisfied

RNFetchBlobTmp_uqqu40gxbq79gm9vje5h5.jpg
Eating after an impromptu lockdown has been declared would be eating to survive and not for satisfaction, it would be about filling my belly with something to keep me alive. I eat a lot even though I didn't eat three times a day but the situation of things will warrant that I eat as little as possible so I won't exhaust my food quickly.

Judging by the picture of the food I have at home, it is certain that I will have to eat just once a day except I want to drink cassava flakes to stupor because that's the only thing I have in surplus, I am not fond of it so it lasts longer than any other food in the house.
RNFetchBlobTmp_uqqu40gxbq79gm9vje5h5.jpg
Guess what, I ran out of cooking gas while trying to make breakfast while writing this article which automatically means I am going to break the lockdown the same day it was imposed. Hopefully, I don't get caught if there are law enforcement agencies in my environment arresting the lockdown offenders.

The assurance of getting cooking gas or other food item is not secure but I just have to give it a try. An impromptu lockdown is the last thing the world needs now due to global inflation and I pray such problems do not face mankind at the moment because it would be more disastrous than we saw a few years ago.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency