Magic in one meal.

png_20220821_142719_0000.png

Welcome to another episode of Creative Sunday with the Hive Learner's Community. This initiative comes up every Sunday, it is about fun and creativity. I enjoy participating and I am certain you wouldn't want to miss out on it if you participate just once.

For a few Sundays now, I have been doing a few stuff in the kitchen as an entry for the creative Sunday initiative and I will be doing nothing more than that again in this article.

You might be wondering why everything I do for my Creative Sunday initiative is all about food, that true and it is because I just love to explore in the kitchen. I love food a lot and making my meals brings me this rare kind of satisfaction after every meal because I am sure about the healthiness of what is going through my mouth.

Screenshot_20220724-091833.png

I am a fan of yam and I do a lot of it during its season. Despite my love for it, all my siblings still it more than I do. My mom usually refers to our love for yam as a cultural thing, I am from Ekiti State and we eat yam a lot more than in other states.

I remembered her teasing me for eating yam before the new yam festival many years ago, she made me but I eventually got to know that everything was a superstition.
Enough of the story.


Yam is a carbohydrate and can be prepared in a lot of ways, it can fit into breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Today's task is making a simple yam and egg for breakfast.

I have seen people argue about whether yam is a light or heavy meal and I ask if that does really matter for a yam freak like me.

Yam is a heavy meal that requires a longer time to digest, I have heard people say it causes constipation when taken late at night but I haven't tried it very late at night before.

I take it boiled yam in the morning and fried in the afternoon when I feel like eating it, I also make porridge and pounded yam from it but non of them comes late at night for me.

Boiled yam and fried egg is a very simple meal, it is fast and easy to prepare.


Ingredients

Picsart_22-08-21_13-46-11-966.jpg

  • Yam

  • Egg

  • Pepper

  • Onions

Picsart_22-08-21_13-43-30-359.jpg

  • Groundnut oil

  • Basil leaf

  • Seasoning & salt.


As you can see, the ingredients aren't expensive. You can have a good meal of yam and egg for less than $2.

Screenshot_20220724-092559.png

Steps

  • Cut the yam into the sizes you want and peel the back.

Picsart_22-08-21_13-50-40-414.png

  • Wash and put them in a pot with water before cooking, ensure that the bigger sizes stay at the bottom of the pot so that they can cook faster.

  • Add a moderate quantity of salt and cover it till the yams are soft.

Picsart_22-08-21_13-43-02-309.jpg


Frying egg is the easiest thing to do

  • Heat your oil

  • Add your onions and let them dry for a minute under low temperature.

Picsart_22-08-21_13-43-30-359.jpg

  • Add your pepper, seasoning, and salt. Allow the mixture to try for a bit under low heat to avoid everything getting burnt.

Picsart_22-08-21_13-46-44-821.jpg

  • Pour your egg into the frying pepper, and allow it to fry until you are okay with it. I love my egg turns brown.

Screenshot_20220724-092559.png

I decided to add a bit of Basil leaves to the meal, the smell and taste of it are magical. It doesn't just give you that awesome aroma, it has got some mind-blowing health benefits. It is one of my favorite leaves and I make herbal soups from it when I am feverish or cold.

I sliced the leaves, wash them and boil for less than a minute.


Presentation

Picsart_22-08-21_13-37-40-256.jpg

I made an opening on the plate surrounding by the yams,

Picsart_22-08-21_13-47-13-512.jpg

I placed the egg in the , and sprinkled the Basil leaves on it.

Picsart_22-08-21_14-15-03-149.jpg

Screenshot_20220724-092559.png

Preparing this meal is less stressful and that's one of the reasons why I love it. The combo is a meal that gives you all that you need as nutrients, nothing is left out.

It is an edible meal for both kids and adults, kids it a lot and you can make it special for kids in their lunch packs.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency