Just Another Typical Day; Ordinary But Special.

The first day of the year is always a special one for me and it has nothing to do with the merriment that's always available that day. I am always happy because my heart will no doubt be filled with gratitude and happiness for making it into the New Year with my friends and family in one piece. Every 31st of December and 1st of January is more of a reflection time for me, I don't allow the things I couldn't achieve last year get in the way of my gratitude. I focus more on every positive thing that happened to me in the previous year and appreciate myself as well.

It's just impossible for me not to feel grateful and happy after everything we go through every day, especially in my part of the world where things aren't improving. We struggle with insecurity, inflation and many other issues just because of bad governance but despite all these things, we scale through with our physical and mental health intact. Amidst all these challenges, we were still able to achieve great things and that's worth a lot to me.

The New Year started at the crossover night and immediately after we got into 2024, I only waited a few minutes before leaving the church. The cross-over service wasn't over but I usually don't wait until the program is over. I am always eager to physically wish the rest of my family a Happy New Year so getting home is always on my mind.

I got home first and after wishing my neighbours a happy new year, I turned on the TV to watch the Lagos State Fiesta because I learned that Kenny Blaq was performing. I always enjoyed his performance and while watching, my sibling arrived.

We hugged and greeted each other, and had a short prayer session to commit the year in God's hands as a family. We played music, danced for a bit even though my steps were terrible and ended up eating the first meal of the year. Don't be deceived by the packaging I gave the food, it was just cereal.

We saw a movie together after the meal and I had to retire to bed before the movie ended. The rest of the New Year just went like a normal day for me, I had a regular meal and rested as much as I could.

Stepping out of the house wasn't an option for me because I barely stepped out of my house on festive days. I prefer it indoors to relax and spend quality time with my family. It was just a normal day but a lot was happening in my mind on the first day of the year.

I had my Marriage Registry coming up on the fifth and putting things in order was part of the things that occupied my mind on the 1st day of the year. I sorted transportation and every other thing because I hate bad surprises popping up on my big day.

Aside from all these things, nothing spectacular happened for me on the New Year. One person could have made it different if she was around but she didn't return from Church until the second day of the year. The New Year excitement had worn off already when Mom arrived and even though we were excited to have her around, it had nothing to do with the New Year Celebration.


I started working on my New Year's Resolution on the first day of the year because that's the best time to start. I had to let my body system realize that we had a lot of work to do this year so it shouldn't be lazy. Posting and having quality engagement every day in 2024 were part of my resolution and taking the New Year break would mean that I can't get those badges I am eyeing on the blockchain.

I also started my savings plan which I don't want to miss a day without putting a least a penny into that box. Starting these things on the first day of the year gave me a huge motivation and I feel energized to just keep going.

The first day of the year is indeed special and I wouldn't want to ruin it for anyone who had an elaborate celebration; still, I feel it's a regular day as well. We hold different beliefs about it and going through it whichever way we think is best is okay.


All image were captured by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency