Fulfilling My Service To Humanity.

There was this particular Yoruba cultural song I loved as a kid, at first I didn't know the meaning then but the tone always made me just love it. When I started understanding Yoruba, I realised that it's a very important message for the world.

It says, "Whoever you are capable of helping is your brethren or sistren, take care of him or her."


Thumbnail was designed on Canva

I have said many times that the world would have been a better place if the human race embraced selflessness and the absence of it is why we are where we are today. The idea of humans helping one another didn't begin today, it started in the creation story because even God knew the importance of it.

After God created Adam, he saw the need to create an help meet because he knew that Adam couldn't live all by himself. I am sure a lot of us are familiar with this story but let's not look at things from the relationship angle because there are people who can't help a fellow human except they are in a relationship with them.

God still went on to make a commandment which says, "Love your neighbour as yourself." To today, this commandment is still ranked as the greatest of all commandments.


This commandment is as simple as saying that if you can't starve yourself, don't ignore your neighbour who is starving.


"Helping a fellow human isn't a task or obligation, I see it as my service to humanity"

This is one topic I enjoy writing about a lot because I wouldn't have been here without the help I received from people throughout my journey in life. Growing up was pretty rough but people came through for me even when I never expected and every good thing they did for me left a mark in my life.

As a teenager, there was a time when I didn't have shelter over my head and someone took me in. The family sheltered me and even took care of my feeding, they never made me feel like I wasn't part of the family.


During my days in the polytechnic, I survived with the help of people. I remember that semester I was about to give up because I couldn't afford the school fees and I almost regretted trying to get an education at all cost. I was hopeless but a few students took it up and ensured that I wouldn't stop halfway. Many of them mentioned to me that I reaped what I sowed but the truth is that many people have sowed good things but the benefactors never saw any reason to help them.

I don't know if I should say that I am lucky to have met people who understand the importance of helping others but one thing is certain, every help I received in life has strengthened my desire to always help people when I have the power to do so. Helping doesn't have to be giving money, there are lots of ways we can come through for people.

There is a lot in it for me whenever I help people and the joy that fills my heart after doing the tiniest of help is huge.

Although, it's the season of love and happiness. A time we are expected to put smiles on people's faces but I don't wait until this time of the year before I perform my services to humanity.


Three weeks ago, my brother told me about his friend who needed accommodation for at least a month. The guy is someone I know and thinking about my teenage days couldn't make me turn a blind eye to his issue and we have been together since then.

Whether it's Christmas or not, it doesn't matter to me. As long as I am in a position to help anyone, I don't hesitate to do so regardless of the tribe or gender. I do my thing without expecting anything in return because I believe that the good I have done for A will definitely inspire A to be helpful to B, that's the only way we can create a better world.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency