becoming good at speaking in public

Hi everyone, it's been a while since my last post, I have been so busy with work and I have missed a lot on hive. This has made me unhappy because I wanted to really focus on my account this year but I guess some things are unavoidable. Am happy to be back on hive and I do hope to become more available.

This week's topic on hive learners community is about growing from an amateur and becoming proficient. There are lots of things that we do but it is only the ones we focus on and keep on developing that we become good at.

Speaking in public

Source

It takes lots of confidence to speak in public. Most people are so frightened to speak in public that they lose their voice when facing a crowd. I admit speaking in public is not an easy task at first but it actually becomes better once we overcome our fear. I still remember the first time I had to face an extremely large crowd when I was in secondary school. I was nervous and I didn't want to make any mistakes. I was so afraid that I might say rubbish when I stand in front of them to speak or that people might not like me, but in the end, I went up the stage and everything went well. In fact, I was surprised by the praises I received afterwards and I felt proud of myself. Ever since then, I knew that speaking in public is not really hard at all. I would not say am proficient in public speaking, honestly am not but am becoming good at it.

Source

Speaking in public does have its perks and the way we deal with it differs individually. I have a few things I do that have actually helped me a lot and make me calm when speaking in public.

  • words of encouragement: I speak positive words of encouragement to myself. I tell myself I can do it and even if I did perform badly, next time would be better
  • practice: sometimes I imagine I am in front of a crowd and I practice how I address and speak to people. I stand in front of the mirror sometimes to do this or practice with friends.
  • eye contact: I find this very helpful. Whenever am speaking to people physically, I try to make eye contact with someone who seems calm and has a friendly face. This has a calming effect on me.

Am still a novice when it comes to tech. Tech to me is another planet that am still exploring and everything there seems magical. I know it's not magic but when you don't know about how something is done, it looks like magic. Honestly, I feel like tech gurus are aliens from another planet but I see them and I have some as friends so I know that theory is wrong. When I know about tech I will become an alien myself 😁😁. Writing is another thing I still feel am a novice at, it takes a lot of work and practice to become a good writer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency