Breaking Point: Overcoming Fear

Many people who know me through engagement on Hive, discord, and in real life might find what I’m about to say a bit difficult to believe, but it is what it is. I’m about to share one of my biggest fears with you all and the funny way in which I was able to overcome it.

Back in secondary school, I really didn’t know the issue I had with the ladies, probably because I was ugly or I didn’t have a good sense of dressing. The girls in my class all hated me; sometimes I feel like all the girls in school do, and my biggest fear was talking to a lady and getting into trouble. I can say that throughout my high school days, I can count how many times I spoke with the ladies in my school. Especially the girls in my class; they avoided me, and I avoided them.

Maybe it was because of the way I snap my pictures 😫

One day, my class teacher made sure a boy and a girl shared the same desk, meaning you couldn’t sit with your favourite person again, so I peered at the hottest girl in my class. She always complained about how I looked, how I smelled, the clothes I wore, and many other things. The fear of going to school because I had to sit with her alway creep me every morning, I’m always scared when she wants to say something because I feel she will attack me. It was easier to have conversations with guys in my class and other classes than to have a conversation with one girl in the school.

The fear followed me to the university level. Sometimes, friends asked me how I never dated any girls in my high school days. I was glad I was able to avoid the girls because I was scared of them.

Actually, there was only one girl I ever liked, and she lived down my street. I didn’t ask her out because I was scared of what she might say. I wasn’t even at the university, so she became my muse to put forward. When I got to the university, I felt it was the right time to have a girlfriend, so I proceeded to ask her out during our semester break.

Well, it didn’t turn out well. I got insulted, looked down upon, and washed. I felt sick for two weeks, but thanks to that, the fear of talking to ladies left me that day. I had always loved her, and I felt she would be different, but that day, I felt like Adam when he ate the forbidden fruit. After I recovered from my sickness, I promised to be the guy all ladies would sort after. Not because I want to have anything to do with them but because I want to improve myself.

I started talking to ladies randomly, in church, bus, market, mall, everywhere I find myself, and just like that, I stopped becoming scared of ladies. Now, I have so many ladies friends that my male friends do ask me to link them up with each other so they can start something. I’m Fash; I might not be perfect, but I’m better than what I used to be, and I’m working towards becoming the best version of myself.

DSC_0137 - Copy_Original.jpeg

These are all old pictures, I bet the 2023 and 2024 own will blow your mind, maybe those picture will be story for another day. Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency