BE A VOLUNTEER


Source
Hello family,
It's another bright and lovely Wednesday from this end with the sun shining to God's glory.
When you celebrate and acknowledge others, in the same and greater measures too shall you be celebrated.
My profound gratitude goes to the entire management for their unreserved diligence to this noble call. I say may God bless and keep you. Unto us the participants may the Lord continue to grant us more success.

I must confess that today's topic is what I been doing for couple of years now. I was so excited when I saw the theme because anytime I have such privilege to share my life I don't take it for granted at all. Kindly stay put as I drop my entry for the week 26 and second edition.

What is volunteering?

In order to have a good grip of the theme, it won't be out of place if we try to fundamentally understand what volunteering implies.
Volunteering entails giving out time, energy resources etc without being paid which has the interest of the public and community at large. Volunteering also means to render service sacrificially.

Who is a volunteer?

Haven said that, then who's a volunteer?
A volunteer is a person who offers help to undertake a task.
A volunteer is anyone who gives skills, purpose, resources and whatever he or she have with being paid at then end. It could be anything and can be done at anywhere.

Importance of being a volunteer.

Haven scratch some basic definitions I would like to share the significance of a volunteer which most people feel is a waste of time to go through such periods.
I believe in the process of time in life which sometimes one could do a task without a monetary value attached for a while.

  • It develops one skills. Volunteering is a skill developing machine in disguise. There's a starting point of things in life. Volunteering helps one to explore and develop varied skill which includes communication, social, relationship etc.
  • Being a volunteer develops one's self worth. One of the major way to develop human capacity is through selfless work and services to society. All the experiences gathered in the course of volunteering equip an individual for better performance and boost confidence. Some that have low self-esteem challenge are been helped through this kind of engagement. I will share my personal experiences.
  • Volunteering is an agent of socialization. This platform creates an environment where an individual link up with many people and get to have more friends. The more you get new friends to more connection.

Would you like to be a volunteer?

Apparently yes. There are different strata of human endeavors that one can be volunteer. I believe is not everything one does in the community that must be paid for. Volunteering gives us the opportunity to pay back to the society and allow people to benefit at least from what we have. You can volunteer in church or mosque or community services or humanitarian etc. You can just find out a niche where your impact can be felt without monetary attachment.

My personal experience as a volunteer.

I had the privileged to be a volunteer at different points in life in different sectors. I have no cause to regret anything at all rather to celebrate the entire process.

  • I used to be shy type and fidget whenever I am asked to perform a task especially in the public. Hmmm at times as if the earth should just open for me to enter whenever there's need to address a little people. Thank God I was able to work on my self when I served in a training institute as a volunteer for almost six months. At four months, I could stand to pass an announcement to people for at least five minutes later I regained my confidence and built a good stage management. Few months down the line, I started taking some minor trainings where I taught mostly youths how to write an award winning curriculum vitae and interview strategies. Today hmmmm I can do a lot. Imagine I didn't start as a volunteer where would I have been? Later I was recruited as a staff of the institute. After some years, I became part of the top management. Hmmm it all started as a volunteer but later grew to executive secretary of the Executive council.
  • I had another opportunity to serve as a volunteer during my youth service. I was posted to the north east region of my country to a state called Gombe. I got engaged as a volunteer for a year and few months. Some of the activities I did was, teaching young ones, organizing seminar free of charge for business people and giving sensitization to all groups in the society.
    Sincerely because of the sacrifices I made which were obvious the school where I served retained me as a permanent staff. I wasn't placed on three months probation as the usual custom demands. Infact my salary started flowing immediately. Wow volunteer pays a lot for me.
  • Presently I am a volunteer in reaching out to accelerated and neglected communities within my locality. I use to Mobilize other volunteers and we reach out to this communities four times in a year with clothes, bibles, freebies and any other at our disposal. That is my own way of affecting my environment. I am into humanitarian services till date infact that is my core passion in life.
    I would have gone ahead to discuss more vital things I have acquired as a result of being a volunteer but let me pause here.

Conclusion.

I love and I will always like to be a volunteer. In life, is not everything that you must be paid for such services. Think of a way how others too could benefit from you without a dine. I have seen, u have heard and I touched whatever is contained as volunteer. There are different ways you can be a volunteer, and some organization pay stipend while others don't however when you are faithful as a volunteer, more doors shall be open that would surprised you.

thanks for visiting my blog and all your comments are well appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency