My Rusty Lamp

Sometimes, I think that my parents forgot my actual birthdate and told me the wrong one because Leos are said to be arrogant whereas I am not. I don't like critiques, but I am the biggest critique of myself.

I was very excited when I heard about #creative-sunday. I had multiple ideas going through my mind. I wanted to try my hand at decoupage but then I settled for creating a painting. I had put so much thought into it but when I actually painted, it turned out... crappy. Well... I am not an artist, just an art-admirer.

Creativity takes courage. Henri Matisse


I was feeling useless when my eyes fell on another painting which I created just couple of days ago. You must have seen it if you have read my introduction. It needed some final touches, but I almost forgot about it.

Therefore, I decided to complete it and chose it for today's challenge. Luckily, I took pictures of the process because at the back of my mind, I had this thought running to share it here with you guys when it's done.

It was also not a perfect art but something that I liked. So come on, let me show you how I made it.


Materials Used

  • Canvas
  • H-pencil for the sketch
  • Water colors
  • Acrylics

Process

I am not at a level where I can draw complex things out of my own imagination. However, I can replicate something reasonably. For this art, the reference picture was taken from Pinterest.

IMG_20220925_202524.jpg

There were intricate details which needed to be neatly drawn on the canvas first. I used an H-pencil for drawing for it has a light shade and hard lead.

IMG_20220925_202554.jpg

I have different types of pencils with varied graphite content which are used for light sketching and for darker blend able shading. It's another topic which I can write about in future if you are interested.

Anyways, after the sketching, it was time to play with colors. Although, textured paintings are recommended for canvas which use Acrylics. Whereas I opted for watercolors. Watercolors can be the easiest paints if one gets the hang of how to make most out them.

I love how they blend, spread and do their magic with less effort by the artist. I first painted the support of the hanging lamp. Mainly used gray as base color and peach for highlights.

It's very important to focus on details like effects of light on the subject to add a realistic element. I am still learning the techniques. You can see how I tried adding different shades.

I was most excited about the fire; the very reason I chose this painting. I used bright yellow for the brightest parts; used orange to add shade; black to give burnt smokey effect.

For the rest of the lamp, I blended gray, peach and mustard to bring out rustic effect.

Once the lamp was done, I picked some cobalt blue acrylic paint and roughly stroked it around the lamp. Tried to be careful near the lamp edges and then applied outward strokes with a freehand.

It's done. Now I am figuring out where to display it. Still lying on my desk.

Constructive feedback is appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency