This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Childhood delight: Toffee (Baba Dudu)

Hello everyone, welcome you all to another edition of HiveLearners creative Sunday. First, I'll like to welcome everyone to the month of September and above all pray our hear desires be fulfilled.

Now to the business of the day, I decided to go back to childhood days and bring back some of the goodies we took as kids one of which is no other than "toffee" locally known as "baba dudu" here in west Africa Nigeria. As I child we never knew why it was called baba dudu meaning "black old man" but then as I grew much older I found out it was so because of it dark brown color thats why Nigerians most especially from the west named it so.

During the process of making the toffee I never told my siblings what I was making until it began to take shape which without me mentioning the name they already knew what it was. To think that as children we consumed lots of sugar without it having any significant effects on us is indeed wonderful because I took baba dudu like no mans business. Although it's not commonly gotten like it was all over the place before but we can still get it in some specific locations/areas. This indeed pleased me and my siblings sure appreciated my effort bringing back old memories with just two ingredients.

So to begin with the making of the toffee, these were the ingredients used:

*Sugar (I used half cup but to get a larger quantity you can use more sugar)
*Coconut milk

Material
*White nylon
*Spoon

STEPS

Step 1: place your pot on the fire and then add in the sugar to the pot and continue to stir so it doesn't get burnt. This should be done under low heat.

I continued to stir using a spoon until the sugar turns caramel (brown color)

Step 2: when the sugar completely turned to brown color, I then added in the coconut milk and stirred continuously until it gets evenly thick.

Step 3: I brought it down from the fire and allowed it to get cold. The more it gets cold it solidifies only then we can be able to roll with our hands. When it was cold and more thicker I scooped out little by little and rolled with my hands to form a round shape.

Lastly, i placed it inside the nylon and tight one after the other. Although I was quite inpatient to allow it dry completely before tying but it came out so nice.

As seem above,this is the process by which we can make baba dudu at home effortlessly that too with simple kitchen ingredients which is not so difficult to get around our various locations. Hope this also brings back our childhood memories just like it deed brought back mine? and let me know also in the comment section if you tasted baba dudu during your days and what name it was called also because I found out it has different names depending where we grew up.


All photos are mine.



Content was inspired by the HiveLearners community (HiveLearners creative Sunday). And also don't forget to subscribe to the community much love.


Thank you for your time, peace 🕊️