This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

ᴄʜʀᴏɴɪᴄʟᴇs ᴏғ ᴀᴘᴘʟɪᴄᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ᴜsᴀɢᴇ ᴏɴ ᴍʏ sᴍᴀʀᴛᴘʜᴏɴᴇ.

As a result of technological advancements which has brought about inventions such as smartphones and gadgets, with the availability of this devices with numerous applications it has made it a lot easier to perform most of our day to day activities without leaving the comfort of our homes. Due to the rate at which we use these applications on our smartphone it has increased the demands for application with extraordinary features. Our needs and the kind of task we perform on our smart devices tends to dictate the kind of apps we download.

I can remember the first time I got my smartphone, in those days all we had was all these keypads phones with limited features and smaller screens. As a gamer, playing games on such devices was manageable since there was no alternative, eventually smart phones with bigger screens were introduced into the mix, my desire just went wild. I purchased my first smartphone not because there was some task or business I needed it for. My main objective was to have a device that could fulfil my gaming fantasies and it did for a while. My favourite device is android not because it is economical but for the fact that I could use a app called "flashshare now xender" to send and receive all kind of gaming apps from my friends, in those days this app was more peculiar to android phones.

In those days nothing actually mattered, immediately after class we all form groups to discuss the latest Gaming apps, there was nothing more fun like having to hear there is a new gaming app in down with amazing graphics and features. Apart from that there was this particular game popular among my cliq in those days, it was temple run. There is more to this game than just having fun, this might sound funny but amidst my friends the person with the highest high score in temple run is given more respect, which is weird but it was fun. After that other games such as subway surfers came and gradually the world was filled with all sort of mobile games to the extent we could barely catch up.

As time goes on, I began to outgrew such childhood fantasies for mobile games, getting admission into high institution did the most of it. I mean instead of my phone just being a tool for gaming, it became a tool for reading materials. Gradually I began to forget what gaming feels like, in fact I barely remember I had games on my phone. When it comes to an institution capable of stressing student till they eventually feel like they are losing their minds, well Nigeria schools does the trick. I had to download a lot of apps as a broadcast student so that I can keep up with the never ending list of assignment. Apps such as ms word, PDF reader, WPS office e.t.c.

Screenshot from my device
As a broadcast student, we had to download all kind of audio editing apps on our devices just in case we need to edit a voice over {V.O} without having to go to the studio. It was hellish in those days, my phone was filled with all kid of audio mixing apps and recorder to the extent it felt like I was working for some under cover organisation. Truth be told, the availability of those apps did make life a lot easier for me in those days but everything that has a beginning but have an end. After I graduated I was no longer in need of those apps but I kept them on my phone regardless. I mean I'm quite aware that I no longer need it anymore but I can't just help the feeling that those apps might be useful someday.



If I get rid of it, would it affect me? I don't think it will. Just like I mentioned earlier, I download apps on my phone for a specific reason and If I feel I am no longer in need of the app getting rid of it will definitely be next thing in mind but there are some apps I have some kind of sentimental attachment to and there are apps I have stopped using on my phone not because they are useless but I don't really have a need for them now, which means there is still a possibility that I might need them in the future. As long as I have enough storage on my device, holding unto the apps for future usage is never a problem.



This write-up was inspired by weekly featured content titled "The useless apps" in hive learners community.



Cover image - 𝖣𝖾𝗌𝗂𝗀𝗇𝖾𝖽 𝗎𝗌𝗂𝗇𝗀 𝖼𝖺𝗇𝗏𝖺
Image 1 - Source



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG