ᴅɪʟᴇᴍᴍᴀ ᴏғ ᴀ ʀɪɢʜᴛᴇᴏᴜs ʟɪᴇ.

It is funny how we tend to manipulate situation to our advantage by telling lies continuously, the thing about lies is that, it doesn't add up. You will have to memorise your made up story and tell more lies to cover up to avoid contradicting yourself. I live in a house with a family of six, as the second child of the family I was good with numbers as if I studied commerce before coming to earth. For that reason I was closer to my mum than my siblings because I assisted her in managing the financial affairs of her business. Which means my account was used mostly for her transactions, sometimes she will purposeful keep some funds in my account for safe keeping.

While I was doing my national diploma in gateway polytechnic, she kept about 50k in my account for reasons I wasn't aware of. She told me she will be making use of with by December, We were around August then. During that time it was almost time for us to pay for our school fees, I was still expecting mine from my parents.

I had this friend then named Ebenizer, he was my room mate in ND1 till I moved to another community in ND2, his parents at the moment were struggling with their finances which made them to be unable to cater for his academic affairs including school fees, he was at the blink of dropping out because exam was approaching, I took pity on him and offered to help because I felt like I was in the position to do so.

He promised to return the money by September, I had it at the back of my mind that since December was still far from the current month we will be fine as long as he keeps to his promise. I gave him 30k out of it to add it to the amount he has gathered to complete his school fees. When it was time for me to pay for my school fees my dad sent me 5k to add to the money already in my account for my school fees, he told me he had already spoken to my mom about it. He wasn't aware that I had make use of the money already. I couldn't tell him what I have done, I just nodded "ok" to what he said.



My present situation now seem similar to the mess my friend was and I can't pressure him for the money because the date he promised is still far away. I could have informed my dad or Mom but I didn't want to damage the trust my mum had in me. I sourced around for the money but it wasn't enough to cover for the amount I needed, though I knew it was silly but at the moment my ego was all I had to protect.

On the long run, i found a guy who made me an offer to buy my phone, I was using Infinix hot 4 pro, though the amount he offered was not up to the amount I bought the phone but due to my desperation I had no choice but to sell the phone. I was bitter all week because I was "phoneless"😅. My exam was extremely stressful because I had a lot of materials I could have read on my phone but I couldn't, it affected my examination performance a lot.



After the exam, that lasted about 2-3 weeks. I was already preparing for a way to get a new phone with the remaining left over money I got from selling my former phone, so I waited till September in school to get the money back from him and that was how I was able to purchase a new phone and went home.

I never spoke about it to my parent but I knew, if I had told them they would have understood and refunded the money which would have saved me from the agony and stress I experienced but I couldn't stop thinking about the fact that, what if I never found a way to get the money, a single silly lie could have cost me an entire semester, would it be worth it?



This write-up was inspired by weekly featured content titled "The Good lie" in hive learners community.



Cover image - 𝖣𝖾𝗌𝗂𝗀𝗇𝖾𝖽 𝗎𝗌𝗂𝗇𝗀 𝖼𝖺𝗇𝗏𝖺



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency