OBSTACLES OF LIFE PREPARE THEM FOR A TOUGHER TOMORROW

The truth is, I wouldn't want to for once see my kids go through hard times and suffering as a father. But then, regardless, I will always learn to balance it up for them so that they never get to struggle with hard times whenever they probably find themselves in one.


20240917_183546.jpg


As much as we love to always make our children happy and comfortable, we should always learn to make them go through some kind of thing so to make them stronger for a tougher stage of life they might come through during their lifetime when we wouldn't be there to guide them.

If I could make life as easy as possible for my kids, I sure will want to make it happen for them. But then, I wouldn't want my children to be spoilt. So I will always endeavor not to always be there for them because I won't always be there for them all their lives.

I will let them fight some obstacles life throws at them in most cases. Not because I don't love or care about them, no! Or because I want them to suffer. But because I would only be doing them nothing but good by doing just that for them.


IMG-20231205-WA0027.jpg


Because I don't think I will be doing them any good by always eliminating the obstacle that life throws at them. I will only be helping them become weaker and more of a coward. It's better to let them learn to fight for themselves and become stronger and prepared for a tougher stage of life that they will all have to face alone.


Eliminating all obstacles for them:


Positive Impact:

  1. Happiness and comfort that won't last

  2. Making them get used to a stress-free lifestyle.

  3. Protecting them from failure. Which is very bad in the life of a kid. Because if they don't fail, how do they get to learn from the mistakes made?

Negative Impact:

  1. Lack of ability to develop problem-solving skills (they literally can't do anything on their own without the help of the parents)

  2. Having an Entitlement spirit and mentality.

  3. They hardly want to grow and learn because they see it as stress and feel their parents can easily do it for them.
    4: Laziness (they become extremely lazy to do anything on their own.)


Allowing kids to face and overcome obstacles, if you ask me, is better, and here are my reasons for saying that:


  1. It prepares them for the real world: Life is full of challenges; kids need to learn to overcome the problems that life throws at them when the time is here.
  2. Self-discovery: It helps them learn their strengths and weaknesses through trial and error.
  3. Helping them become independent personnel: Facing challenges will have a way of helping the kids develop a sense of independence in their lives. Decision-making and problem-solving wouldn't be so hard tasks for them any more.

But then, nevertheless, it's always advisable to balance:


  1. Learn to provide guidance and support when needed as a parent.

  2. Encourage their effort and not always just success.


In Summary


Parents should learn to make an impact in the lives of their kids by giving them the mindset to overcome obstacles rather than eliminate challenges.


20240819_203940.jpg


Thank you for taking the time to go through my content, and I hope you've learned lots of lessons from the community's weekly prompt. This post is in response to the #Hivelearners weekly contest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now