Home Is Where The Heart Is

Image by Pexels from Pixabay

It can be difficult to move away from a place that is so familiar, but sometimes it’s necessary. I recently took a journey back to my hometown of Kostinbrod to uncover why I had left and how it had changed since I was last there.
There's a culture of judgment in Kostinbrod that can be quite overwhelming. People are quick to judge others, and they're not afraid to voice their opinion. It can be difficult to find acceptance in this town, and it's easy to feel like you're not good enough. This judgmental culture can be quite isolating, and it's one of the main reasons I left the city.

I was always one of the smartest and poorest kids in my class and had to deal with judgement from others because of it. Kids would make fun of me and call me names because I was different. I was also judged by my peers for being good at school and getting good grades. I was called a nerd and told that I would never amount to anything because I was too smart. If you did not conform to the norms of the town, you were immediately labeled as different and ostracized.

As I got older, the judgement didn't stop. People would stare at me when I walked down the street and whisper about me as I passed by. They would judge me for the way I dressed, for the music I listened to, and for the friends I hung out with. It felt like everywhere I went, people were judging me.

I eventually left Kostinbrod to go to university in a bigger city. It was a culture shock at first, but I soon realized that people weren't judging me nearly as much as they did back home. In fact, people were generally more accepting of difference in the city. It was a refreshing change after years of feeling like an outsider in my own town.

I was finally able to be myself without feeling like I had to conform to anyone's expectations.
Living outside of Kostinbrod has given me a new perspective on the town. I've realized that the judgmental attitude of the people there is something that I don't want in my life. I'm much happier now that I'm away from all of the negativity.
I think it's important to remember that for every judgmental person there are many more who are kind and understanding.

Looking back, I can see that the judgmental attitude of the people in Kostinbrod was likely due to their own insecurity and lack of exposure to diversity. While it was tough to deal with at the time, it ultimately made me stronger and more resilient. The town instilled in me a strong work ethic and determination to succeed. It also taught me how to be resilient in the face of adversity and to accept people for who they are. Despite being born in such a judgmental environment, I'm grateful to have been able to appreciate all the unique beauty this town has to offer and all the friendships I made. To be honest God never gives us trials we can't handle.


Let our children not grow up in a terrible world. Together we can make it better. It is our destiny to
suffer from the past, to long for the future, but to forget the present.
Any unsourced images and writing are my own. Life is worth it!
Thank you for support and follow me @darthsauron

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency