The freedom to dress however you want.

When I was a child, I didn't spend much time with my mother. Both she and my father worked a lot, and I spent most of my time being taken care of by my grandmother. My father had alternating work schedules, so he had days off every other day, which meant I spent more time with him because he had more free time. My mother only had weekends off, and sometimes only on Sundays. Our interaction was minimal until I was 14 years old, and this caused a lot of stress in our relationship.

When my mother finally had more time for me during my adolescence, she encountered a rebellious and strong-willed girl who didn't accept opinions about how she should be, what she should do, and even how she should dress. My mother had always been an extremely controlling person, and she did everything to limit my freedom in my choices. So, even though she was rarely at home, for a long time, she dictated how I should be. But as time went on, I began to rebel against this.

It wasn't easy; we had thousands of arguments, and a significant portion of them were indeed about clothing. My mother wanted me to dress the way she envisioned, the way her personality was, and I wanted to be myself. I suffered for a long time because of this, going shopping with her was terrible. Everything I chose, she criticized, no matter what it was - sandals, shirts, pants, and even underwear. She wanted me to be what she wanted, and that was extremely frustrating for me.

Consequently, my mother's opinions undermined my self-esteem. After a while, perhaps out of exhaustion or simply because I accepted it, I stopped trying to argue with her about it and accepted the clothes she gave me. There came a time when I even asked for her opinion when buying clothes, when I was around 18 to 20 years old. However, shortly after that, I rebelled again because I realized how much she had influenced my clothing choices through pressure and control.

Made in Canva.

It's sad to come to the conclusion that even today, if my mother criticizes one of my outfits, it makes me feel uncomfortable and insecure, even though I haven't lived with her for years. Fortunately, I have a wonderful man by my side who always emphasizes how well I dress and how beautiful I am. But for a long time, something as simple as getting dressed caused situations filled with stress and hurt.

These days, my style is mostly casual sporty, and in specific situations, somewhat urban. It's easy for me to choose what to wear, and I really don't spend much time thinking about it because I like the clothes I have. I would like to have a much wider variety of clothes, I must admit, but financially, I can't afford that luxury yet. Anyway, I don't care about brand-name clothes, just comfort. Having this ease of choice for me is a victory, considering that dressing for most of my life led to stress and frustration.


Portuguese

Quando eu era criança convivia pouco com minha mãe. Ela e meu pai trabalhavam muito e eu passava a maior parte do tempo sendo cuidada pela minha avó. Meu pai trabalhava alternadamente, então folgava dia sim, dia não; por esse motivo eu convivia mais com ele, pois ele tinha mais folgas. Minha mãe folgava apenas nos finais de semana, e ás vezes só no domingo. Nossa convivência foi mínima até meus 14 anos, e isso causou um grande estresse em nossa relação.

Quando minha mãe pôde ter mais tempo pra mim, já na adolescência, ela se deparou com uma garota rebelde e de personalidade forte, que não aceitava opiniões sobre como deveria ser, o que deveria fazer e também sobre como se vestir. Minha mãe sempre foi uma pessoa extremamente controladora, e ela fazia de tudo pra que eu não tivesse liberdade em minhas escolhas. Então, mesmo ela estando pouco em casa, durante muito tempo foi ela quem ditou como eu deveria ser, mas na medida que o tempo foi passando eu fui me revoltando quanto a isso.

Não foi fácil, tivemos milhares de brigas, e boa parte delas eram sim por causa de roupas. Minha mãe queria que eu me vestisse da forma que ela idealizava, da forma que a personalidade dela era, e eu queria ser eu mesma. Sofri durante muito tempo com isso, ir as compras com ela era terrível. Tudo o que eu escolhia, ela criticava, não importa o que fosse; sandálias, blusas, calças e até calcinhas. Ela queria que eu fosse como ela queria, e isso era extremamente frustante pra mim.

Consequentemente, os palpites da minha mãe fizeram com que minha auto estima ficasse abalada. Depois de um tempo, talvez pelo cansaço ou porque simplesmente aceitei, parei de tentar discutir com ela sobre isso, e aceitava as roupas que ela me dava. Chegou um tempo em que eu inclusive pedia a opinião dela na hora de comprar roupas, quando eu já tinha cerca de 18 a 20 anos. Porém, pouco tempo depois eu me rebelei de novo porque enxerguei o quanto ela influenciou através de pressão e controle a minha forma de me vestir.

Made in Canva.

É triste chegar a conclusão de que até hoje, se minha mãe critica uma roupa minha, isso me deixa desconfortável e insegura, mesmo eu não morando com ela há anos. Por sorte, tenho um homem maravilhoso ao meu lado que está sempre ressaltando o quanto me visto bem e sou linda. Mas, durante muito tempo, algo simples como se vestir, causava situações carregadas de estresse e de mágoa.

Hoje em dia meu estilo é casual esportivo na maior parte do tempo, e em situações específicas, um tanto urbano. Pra mim é fácil escolher o que vestir, e eu realmente não dedico muito tempo pensando nisso, porque eu gosto das roupas que tenho. Eu gostaria de ter uma variadade de roupas bem maior, devo admitir, mas financeiramente ainda não posso me dar esse luxo. De qualquer forma, não faço questão de roupas de marca, apenas de conforto. Ter essa facilidade de escolha, pra mim, é uma vitória levando em conta que me vestir durante a maior parte da minha vida me levou ao estresse e frustração.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency