Friends I lost along the way

I confess that when I found out that the new theme for the Hive Learners community contest would be 'Lost Childhood Friends', it bothered me a little. I have been trying to write about all the themes that the community proposes because it's important for me to practice my writing. Up until this point, the themes have been okay for me, especially because they reminded me of interesting experiences I had in life, and in a way, it was interesting for me to bring reflections about the past to the surface. But talking about friends who have drifted apart is complicated because it stirs up my emotions, something I still care about but have difficulty admitting to myself.

All the friends I have today, a number I can count on one hand, I have known for over 10 years. They are people who have known me in various phases of my life, and vice versa. People I trust, with whom I can confide without judgment, and whom I can rely on in the worst moments. Although I have few true friends, I consider myself truly lucky. Because I know there are many people who can't rely on anyone, and in many cases, those they call friends are actually disguised enemies just waiting for the right moment to stab them in the back.

However, even though I consider myself lucky most of the time, there are some people in my memories whom I believed I would carry with me for the rest of my life, but nowadays, I can barely remember their last names. There's a song from my favorite Brazilian band that goes, "I forgot your last name, but I remember you." That's exactly how I feel. Interestingly, I've been listening to this song since I was 13 years old, and as I grow older, it only makes more sense, even though, in the end, it's just a silly song.

I had reasons for each friend I left behind, reasons that I remember well, reasons that make me uncomfortable, and that's why I resisted writing something about the topic for a while. But the main reason, the one at the core of friendships that didn't continue, is the fact that I gave too much of myself and didn't receive reciprocity. I'm a very loyal person who hates falsehood and relationship games. I like to be sincere and to have others be sincere with me. I easily believe what I'm told and I like it when others believe what I say, but definitely, I've never been a foolish person. My intuition is a wolf with impeccable vision, smell, and touch.


Of course, it's strange to read the last sentence and relate it to childhood and adolescence, but what I mean by that is that in moments when I realized I was being hurt too much by people who claimed to care about me, I simply turned my back and walked away. If you like me, I hope you show it because if I like you, I'll do the same. My way of relating has always worked like that, and as I matured, I realized that's the way I consider correct. After all, I have no reason to pretend to like someone when I don't, nor do I want people to do that to me. Everything else that is harmful within a friendship arises from a lack of honesty.

I still happen to see some of these former friends by chance when I'm in certain places. In those moments, we wave to each other and that's it. I don't feel the urge to approach them, but I also don't hold any resentment. I just think, "Our time together has passed," and I accept that mental assertion as something natural to me.

Nowadays, I also think that back then, they gave me what they knew how to give, according to the maturity they had, the family and cultural influences they had, and so on. But even so, I prefer to keep to myself and let them keep to themselves.


Portuguese

Confesso que quando soube que o novo tema do concurso da comunidade Hive Learners seria ‘Lost Childhood Friends’ isso me incomodou um pouco. Tenho tentado escrever sobre todos os temas que a comunidade propôe, pois pra mim é importante praticar minha escrita, além do fato de que até esse momento os temas foram ok para mim, principalmente por me lembrarem experiências interessantes que eu tive na vida, e de certa forma, foi interessante pra mim colocar reflexões sobre o passado para fora. Mas falar sobre amigos que ficaram pelo caminho é complicado, porque é algo que mexe com minhas emoções, algo do qual ainda me importo mas que tenho dificuldade de admitir isso pra mim mesma.

Todos os amigos que tenho hoje, quantidade da qual posso contar nos dedos de uma mão, eu conheço a mais de 10 anos. São pessoas que me conheceram em várias fases da minha vida e vice e versa. Pessoas que eu confio, que eu posso desabafar sem julgamento e que eu posso contar em meus piores momentos. Embora eu tenha poucos amigos verdadeiros, me considero uma pessoa realmente sortuda. Porque eu sei que existem muitas pessoas que não podem contar com ninguém, e que em muitos casos, aqueles que elas chamam de amigos, são justamente inimigos disfarçados que estão esperando apenas o momento certo pra lhe darem uma rasteira.

Porém, mesmo me considerando uma pessoa sortuda na maior parte do tempo, existem em minha lembrança algumas pessoas das quais eu acreditei que levaria comigo para o resto da vida, mas que hoje em dia, eu mal lembro do sobrenome. Existe uma música, da minha banda brasileira favorita que diz ‘’Esqueci seu sobrenome, mas me lembro de você.’’ É exatamente assim como me sinto.O curioso, é que escuto essa música desde quando tinha 13 anos de idade, hoje tenho 29, e na medida que vou envelhecendo, ela só faz mais sentido, mesmo que, no fim das contas, seja uma música boba.

Eu tive motivos pra cada amigo que deixei pelo caminho, motivos dos quais me lembro bem, motivos que me causam desconforto, e por isso resisti um pouco a escrever algo sobre o tema. Mas, o motivo principal, aquele que está no âmago das amizades que não prosseguiram, é o fato de que eu me doava demais e não era recíproco.Sou uma pessoa muito leal, que odeia falsidade e jogos de relacionamento. Eu gosto de ser sincera e de que sejam sinceros comigo. Eu acredito fácil no que me dizem e gosto que acreditem no que digo, mas definitivamente, eu nunca fui uma pessoa idiota. Minha intuição, é um lobo com visão, faro e tato impecáveis.

É claro que é estranho ler a última frase e relacioná-la com infância e adolescencia, mas o que quero dizer com isso, é que nos momentos em que vi que estava sendo machucada demais por pessoas que diziam se importar comigo, eu simplesmente virei as costas e fui embora.Se você gosta de mim, eu espero que demonstre isso, porque se eu gosto de você eu vou fazer o mesmo. A minha forma de me relacionar sempre funcionou desse jeito, e na medida que fui amadurecendo, percebi que essa é a forma que considero correta. Afinal, não tenho porque fingir que gosto de alguém quando não gosto, nem quero que as pessoas façam isso comigo. Todo o resto que é prejudicial dentro de uma amizade surge da falta de honestidade.

Alguns desses ex amigos eu ainda vejo vez outro por acaso quando estou em determinados lugares. Nesses momentos nós acenamos um para o outro e é só. Eu não sinto vontade de me aproximar, mas também não sinto rancor, eu só penso ‘’Nosso tempo juntos passou’’ e eu aceito essa afirmação mental que pra mim é tão natural.

Hoje em dia eu também penso que na época o que eles me deram eram o que sabiam dar, era de acordo com a maturidade que tinham, com as influências familiares e culturais que tinham e etc. Mas, mesmo assim, eu prefiro ficar na minha e que eles fiquem na deles.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency