Everything in the future glittered like gold, until it didn't.

Portuguese version below.

It took me 26 years to recognize that I was a dreamy person, even though during childhood I would dedicate hours of my day to playing alone and imagining dozens of different worlds, all shining and hardly plausible.

In some of these parallel universes, I would imagine various versions of myself. There were realities where I was a princess, in others a warrior; there was a world where I was a very talented archaeologist and a world where I charmed everyone with my voice and my guitar. Even in adolescence, I continued to spend some hours of my day dreaming new dreams, imagining how everything would be perfect a few years from then, how I would achieve everything I desired, and thus be a fulfilled and content person.

That's how I saw the future most of the time, always something brighter and more beautiful than the present moment, than the past. This led to disappointment several times, but when I reached adulthood, I discovered what it truly means to be let down, and I found out that it hurts.

You know how it is: when you're under 18, it's common to have the best expectations when thinking about your adult life; we imagine a career, romantic relationships, and everything stable. But, we all know that when we get there, it doesn't work out quite like that, unless you're born into wealth and incredibly lucky in love, the journey will be tough until you manage to build a professional career that allows you to live well and have the best possible marriage. Sometimes, a person is lucky in one of these two aspects. I was lucky in the second one, haha. The first one, however, always seemed like a cruel battle to me.

Without a shadow of a doubt, adulthood was what always shone to me like gold, it was what made me chase the rainbow for a long time, but when I reached the end, there was no pot of gold, just a bridge of illusions. It was only three years ago that I truly realized how my mind worked and how disconnected it was from the actions I took. In fact, I started therapy to understand this, because what I wanted and what I did for a long time were contradictory things, and that could really be a mental health issue that definitely needs to be resolved. The truth is, three years ago, when I was 26, it was a shock to come to the conclusion that I trusted the future too much, had too many expectations, dreamt too much, always imagining something better to come, always following a light that didn't truly exist but seemed better than where I was. What a mistake.


Made in Canva.

Since then, I have been forcing myself to look at reality and focus on the present moment and the actual possibilities according to my actions. In the beginning, it wasn't an easy task, but nowadays it's smoother because over time I came to understand that I couldn't fully rely on my goals if I didn't have real plans to achieve them. I learned not to place so much trust in my perspectives, although sometimes I still falter, betray myself, and deceive myself. I continue walking toward the real world, and with each step, I realize that the only light I should believe in is the one that emerges from my actions.


Portuguese

Eu demorei 26 anos pra reconhecer que eu era uma pessoa sonhadora, mesmo que durante a infância eu dedicasse horas do meu dia a brincar sozinha e imaginar dezenas de mundos diferentes, todos reluzentes e pouco verossímeis.

Em algum desses universos paralelos eu imaginava diversas versões de mim mesma. Haviam realidades em que eu era uma princesa, noutras uma guerreira; havia o mundo em que eu era uma arqueóloga muito talentosa, e o mundo em que eu encantava a todos com minha voz e meu violão. Mesmo na adolescência, eu continuava dedicando algumas horas do meu dia para sonhar novos sonhos, imaginar como tudo seria perfeito dali há alguns anos, em como eu conseguiria conquistar tudo o que desejava e portanto seria uma pessoa realizada e contente consigo mesma.

Foi assim que vi o futuro na maioria da vezes, algo sempre mais brilhante e bonito do que o momento presente, do que foi o passado. Isso fez com que eu me decepcionasse várias vezes, mas quando cheguei a vida adulta, eu descobri o que significa quebrar a cara de verdade, e descobri que dói.

Vocês sabem como é: quando se tem menos de 18 anos é comum ter as melhores expectativas quando pensamos em nossa vida adulta; imaginamos carreira, relações amoras, tudo estabilizado. Mas, todos nós sabemos que quando chegamos lá, não é bem assim que funciona, a não ser que você seja uma pessoa rica de berço e seja incrivelmente sortudo no amor, a jornada será difícil até conseguir construir uma carreira profissional que te permina viver bem, e ter o melhor casamento possível. Ás vezes, uma pessoa só tem sorte em algum desses dois ramos. Eu tive no segundo, rs. O primeiro,no entanto, sempre pareceu ser uma batalha cruel pra mim.

Sem nenhuma sombra de dúvida a vida adulta foi o que sempre reluziu pra mim como ouro, foi o que me fez seguir o arco-íris por muito tempo, mas quando cheguei ao final, não existia pote de ouro nenhum, apenas um ponte de ilusões. Só há três anos eu percebi como de fato minha mente funcionava e como ela era desconexa das atitudes que eu tomava. De fato, comecei a fazer terapia pra entender isso, pois o que eu quero e o que eu faço durante muito tempo foram coisas contraditórias, e isso pode realmente ser um problema de saúde mental que com toda certeza precisa ser resolvido. A verdade é que há três anos atrás quando eu estava com 26 anos, foi um choque chegar a conclusão de que eu confiava demais no futuro, criava expectativas demais, sonhava demais sempre imaginando algo melhor por vir, sempre seguindo uma luz que não existia de verdade mas que parecia ser melhor do que onde eu tava. Que erro.

De lá pra cá, eu tenho me forçado a olhar pra realidade, a olhar pra o momento presente e pra as possibilidades reais de acordo com as atitudes que eu tomo. No início não foi uma tarefa fácil, mas hoje em dia é mais tranquilo porque no decorrer do tempo eu fui entendendo que eu não poderia confiar completamente em meus objetivos se eu não tivesse planos reais de realizá-los. Eu aprendi a não confiar tanto assim em minhas perspectivas, embora ás vezes eu ainda falhe, traia a mim mesma, me iluda. Continuo caminhando rumo ao mundo real e a cada passo me dando conta de que a única luz que eu devo acreditar é aquela que surge das minhas ações.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency