Mittelschmerz, Blue Light Glasses, Camping Mash-up

Screenshot_20210917_165024_com.android.chrome.jpg

I turned off the 6:30 alarm this morning and stayed in bed for another 15 minutes. Before the alarm however, I had gotten up much earlier and used the bathroom. I really need to stop drinking liquid so close to bedtime. I felt off, besides being tired, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. I had my devotions and realized that in times like these I needed the comfort of my heavenly Father. And so I read, “I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.” John 14:18 KJV https://bible.com/bible/1/jhn.14.18.KJV. I was praying and crying for many things and people around the world. And I know God will come through. After my devotions, I thought about exercising, but never got to it oddly enough. It’s like, once I get up and out of my room, the chances of me exercising reduce significantly. And the fact that I was feeling strange in my body didn’t help at all. This strange feeling happens every month. But I don’t recall looking it up until later today. It turns out that my lower abdominal pain is a part of the ovulation process called mittelschmerz. So annoying. I tuned in to Radio Jamaica while making my smoothie. It filled the blender too much and caused me to take a much longer time. I poured some out and did that a couple times to ensure it was evenly blended. Then I poured some out for a smoothie slush later on.

It was Friday and that meant I had a lesson online. I have to constantly check my schedule to ensure I’m not missing anything. You best believe that has gotten to me now. The class was only an hour and forty minutes, a reduction from the usual two hours with this company. The class was okay but not great, as I was feeling so off. After the class I wasn’t sure what to do. There had been so many changes for today that now I just felt in limbo. There had been a 13:00 engagement which had been brought forward to Wednesday; the original departure time of 14:30 for camping had switched to 17:45 and now completely cancelled. But I didn’t know yet at that time of the day what was to happen. And so the new time in my head was 17:45, but that was tied to how my friend was feeling and the progression of the weather which was not looking good. I remembered some time yesterday that I had quinoa. Outta sight, outta mind fi real. I can’t believe I was struggling for so many days about what to eat and I had the quinoa tucked away under the cupboard. I decided I’d have it as a cereal cooked in coconut milk with ripe bananas. I wasn’t concentrating at all. I used too much coconut milk and too much honey. Nevertheless, I sat down to lunch and enjoyed the change. I started watching a movie but abandoned it to practice Japanese kanji on my phone about 30 or more minutes.

I have become increasingly more aware of the amount of time I’m spending in front of screens. I don’t think I have thought about it as much as I should. When my student came online today he was doing the lesson from home as opposed to from work. The first thing I noticed was that he was wearing glasses and he advised that they were glasses, to protect his eyes from the blue glare of the computer screen. And it dawned on me that I have never worn glasses or gotten any kind of protective sheet for my computer, especially in light of the more recent high usage since 2018 for 2 years of online studying. So after the class ended I went on YouTube and did some research and then went on Amazon to look on some eyewear. And let me tell you, the prices were a big turn off for me. I haven’t given up on it, but now it’s something I have to plan and budget for because I don’t see my computer and screen time decreasing anytime soon. And since I don’t want to be using any eye drops from the drugstore I need to put measures in place. In my almost 40 years, I’ve never had to wear glasses. And not that I need glasses for seeing purposes, but for protection purposes. I found out today that my Thursday company class which has been canceled for the past 5 weeks, will no be going online. This means increased exposure to this invisible blue like that I can’t see.

After lunch, sometime around 2:00, I went into the kitchen and sliced up the pumpkin for the camping trip. It was something recommended to me that would make a good food item to toss on the grill. Of course there was still some amount of uncertainty with whether or not we were going anywhere, but I still try to prepare a little. The only things I did not touch were the frozen items and the cold items which I left in the refrigerator. It was almost 15:00 by this time and I just wanted to lay down and so I did. I played a few rounds of backgammon on my phone before attempting to sleep. Even though I tried to sleep until 16:00, I was alert the whole time. Maybe it was because I used my phone just before closing my eyes or because my lower abdominal area, especially the right side, was so uncomfortable. In any event, I believe my body still benefitted from just laying down. The alarm went off and I reluctantly got up and message my friend. I needed to know whether we were going or what the consensus would be. I learned that the side effects from her vaccination were a bit intense and on top of that the weather for the entire weekend was looking quite sour. We agreed that it would be better to cancel and be on the safe side, than to take the risk to be out in the rains. I still hope I will be able to have this camping experience one day.

wp-1631877929062.jpg

Once I realized that we weren’t going camping, I had to deal with the fact that once again I had no idea what I was going to have for dinner. I had sent away my potatoes in the bag last night. But fortunately, I had kept my fruits. I still had a small portion of quinoa left on the stove top along with the smoothie slush. That was dinner, if I can call it that. Throughout the day I kept massaging my tummy area for some relief. Once I did get some relief, I’d do bits here and there. Like, I finally folded the sheets that had been sitting in the chair by the window. It took me some time however to put them away even after folding them. I also put away some loose clothing and added a few more items of clothing to my backpack, which became really heavy with be addition of the fruits. I managed to record yesterday’s blog audio as well. There was one more thing that I’d wanted to do for a couple months now and I finally did it. I grinded the dried rosemary to a powder like consistency for my cooking. This is what I’ve been using instead of thyme herb. What a day today turned out to be. But in everything, I give thanks, especially for the chocolate treat. It was supposed to be for the trip, but I figured I could have a small piece.

wp-1631879484391.jpg

IMG_20210917_192358.jpg

Thank you for journeying with me on today’s entry. Please support by leaving a comment below or sharing this with someone who might enjoy the journey. Remember to follow my blog stacypersonallyapeaking.wordpress.com to get posts directly in your inbox. You can also watch me on my YouTube channel Stacy Personally Speaking to see me in person. 20:53

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency