Phoenix - chapter 82 - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

(previously...)

82

.
It took less time to pack than Phoenix had feared. By the time Sage Eagle arrived, she was pretty much done. She went into the girls’ room and found they hadn’t done too badly either.

It was hard to believe how much stuff they had managed to accumulate in such a short period of time, when they’d come with almost nothing.

A strong arm came around her. “You became your name here,” Sage Eagle said. “You rebirthed from the ashes of your former self – into the glorious woman I’ve fallen deeply in love with.”

Phoenix looked up into his dark chocolate eyes. “I believe that now,” she said. “I’m totally different than who I was when I came to Ba’a O’ng.”

“Do you like who you’ve become?”

“Yes. I believe I do.”

“Good!”

“Is Hooxa coming to help as he promised?”

“He’s in the living room now. Try not to stare at his nose; he’s still pretty upset about that.”

“I haven’t thanked you for standing up for me… But I’m very grateful.”

He kissed her. “His behavior pushed me towards you one more time before Woxi and my father ganged up on us!”

“Then we should be grateful for him? Even though he tried to take advantage of me?”

“That doesn’t excuse his behavior, but yes, we have reason to be grateful. Now, you and the girls should go out into the living room, we don’t want to stress your ankle!”

“Okay,” Phoenix accepted, then kissed him again. “We’ll corral the kittens.”

“They’re really going to live with us?”

“Yes…” For a moment, she worried. Were they going to be a bigger issue than she thought? “Frank wouldn’t let me keep cats, but before him, they were always a part of my life.”

He was silent for a few moments as he picked up a tote and carried it through the house. Phoenix partly followed, but went to the living room, passing Jade Wolf in the hall. His nose was still swollen and bruised. She hoped there would be no lasting damage, though she also hoped he had learned his lesson. Dancing Bear met her with a box for the kittens, complete with air holes in the sides.

“Is he going to be okay with the kittens?” Phoenix asked, worriedly.

“I think he’ll be okay once he gets used to the idea. He’s not used to things being outside his realm of control. He has a learning curve ahead of him – including him learning to be a father to your girls. Once he’s able to surrender control, he will be fine, but it may be rocky for awhile.”

Phoenix nodded.

“He’s a good man and a man of his word. He won’t abandon you because you want something different than he wants.”

“You’re sure?”

“Positive!” Dancing Bear looked to the door where Sage Eagle was coming back inside. He took another couple of totes out.

Phoenix captured each of the kittens and put them in the box. She wondered again, whether Sage Eagle would really be happy with her and all her foibles – the ones that Frank couldn’t tolerate. She may have changed a lot, but underneath it all, she was still the same person she was when she was known as Tanya Jones. Was she truly good enough for Nighthawk’s youngest son?

Sage Eagle said nothing as he carried more totes.

Phoenix felt a tinge of guilt watching the men carry out the totes while she did nothing except keep the kittens in their box. She understood why she had been sidelined, but it didn’t make her feel less useless.

“Let me walk you home,” Dancing Bear suggested, picking up the box of kittens. “My work here is done.”

“I’m not done learning from you, Woxi!” Phoenix insisted as they walked, Skye and Rose skipping along with them, clearly excited. “I still need you to teach me canning and all those things!”

“I will… but I will no longer be your constant mentor. You have a partner now.”

“Are you sure he’s going to be okay about the kittens?”

“I’m sure of it! But you’re going to have to talk to him about them.”

“I will…,” Phoenix replied, feeling worried. She wasn’t good at bringing up possible points of contention. Frank had always used those points as ways to attack her.

“What good is your relationship if you’re afraid?” Dancing Bear challenged. “BE equal! Equality shouldn’t be about being the same, but it should be about not being afraid of letting your opinions be heard.”

They reached the brand new earthship. Phoenix could hardly believe that it was to be hers – as long as she had need of it. She could hardly wait to be able to build her gardens. It would be the most beautiful one in all of Ba’a O’ng… befitting of the chieftain’s wife… though she prayed that day would remain well into the future!

“We are here,” Dancing Bear pointed out as they went inside. “It is beautiful, but it needs your womanly touch, to make it truly a home for you and Kwina… and your children – both of your daughters and the children you will bear Kwina.”

“Do you think?”

She grinned. “I’m certain of it! You already have the coloring of having conceived.”

“What?!”

“It only takes a moment…,” Dancing Bear replied. “From that very moment, your body begins to make changes. Feel free to ask me anything about anything at all. I am here to teach anyone who wishes to learn. Where should I put the kittens?”

“Anywhere. I don’t plan to restrict them too much.”

She put them down and opened the box, allowing the squirming kittens to jump out and start exploring their new home. “I think the guys are here,” Dancing Bear said, looking out to where the van had just pulled up.

“Thank you, Woxi… for everything!” Phoenix said, hugging the older woman.

“Ahhh, Phoenix. Sunny Phoenix! You have flourished here like few have. You have flourished here like few have. I can only help you as much as you allow – and you have allowed much. You are truly Neme’o’ng now.”

Phoenix smiled back at her as Sage Eagle came in, carrying some totes. He didn’t ask where they went, just headed to the girls’ rooms. He came back into the living room as Dancing Bear left. He put his arms around her, wiping a tear from her eye. She hadn’t realized that she was crying. “You’re not sad...”

“I will miss the relationship I’ve had with Woxi. But no, I’m not sad. I’m so, so happy!”

“I’m glad,” he said and went out to get another load of totes.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to the prologue

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at Books2Read. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!

Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014, approximately 9 months before Phoenix.)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency