Phoenix - chapter 80 - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

(previously...)

80

.
“Woxi has taught you well,” Sage Eagle pronounced, settling back in the chair at the dining table, his hands resting on his full stomach.

“Thanks,” Phoenix replied with a bashful smile.

“You don’t take compliments very well, T’suanki,” he told her.

“No,” she agreed. “Whenever Frank said I did something well, the next sentence would tell me everything I did wrong and how I could improve next time.”

“He wasn’t meant to be your teacher!” he growled.

“Not even Woxi has scolded me like he did. And she is my teacher here.”

“If I ever offend you, Coonagwi, tell me… though maybe spare the coffee.”

She giggled.

“Come here,” he coaxed, scooting his chair out a bit.

She went to him, not resisting him when he guided her back onto his lap.

“Sometimes, my timing isn’t very good,” Phoenix explained. “I never did anything for April Fool’s Day – except when they did something at school, so I didn’t think anything of it when I talked to your father about staying… I would have done it the previous night except for the kittens.”

“I know,” he replied, kissing her neck. “My father told me off for my actions, but I still didn’t listen very well. However, you giving me my space then told me that you didn’t need me – especially after you kissed Pronghorn like you did.”

“That was to prove to you that I didn’t need you...”

“I know… It was a clever idea.”

“Pronghorn’s idea. After we decided that we weren’t meant for each other, he managed to get me to admit that I was hung up on you and promised to help.”

Sage Eagle laughed. “It worked all right, I was so jealous! I couldn’t admit it, of course, so I kept maintaining that you were wrong for the tribe. Of course, I was the only one saying that, so it didn’t go anywhere. I would have been devastated had you left.”

“If I hadn’t heard Fair Tortoise’s story, I might have given in to your cousin though. It was wrong for me to want him, but...”

“I know… He’s charming and has this habit of turning hearts and heads whenever he walks into the room. That’s why he got into fancy feather. Have you seen that?”

“Only on Woxi’s TV,” she admitted.

“Well, our pow wow is two months away. We’ll watch together – except when I’m competing anyway – and I’ll show you everything I know.”

Phoenix grinned, thinking of watching with him, perhaps carrying his baby, another tribal member on the way… to learn their traditions and culture.

“We’d better go and get the girls,” Phoenix finally said.

“And my father may wish to speak with me. Then, we have to get our things moved – yours, then mine...”

Phoenix smiled. “That will make it official,” she said, feeling nervous, but also very happy.

“We made it official to the Great Spirit yesterday… when you opened yourself up to me – completely,” he reminded. “Then, by using our new names for each other in front of Woxi, we made it official to her. Today, me moving my things out of my father’s house will make it official to him. Tonight, when I sit next to you at the tribal dinner, we will make it official to anyone who sees us. My father may wish to do a little ceremony for us once we have a baby on the way, but our actual bonding happened yesterday. Even if you decide to reject me in the future, we will always have this connection – which is why it’s so important to only bond with the one you truly love... not like my cousin, who confuses coupling and bonding and simply having fun, like a schoolboy playing with the girls at school...”

“Thank you for giving me a chance,” Phoenix said.

“And thank you for giving me a second one! I will endeavor to not throw away your love again!” He turned her a little and took her mouth, merging his with hers.

Phoenix didn’t want this to end. Even if she had baby after baby until she was too old to have any more! “T’suanka?” she asked between kisses, remembering something Frank had said.

“T’suanki?”

“What if we have more children than we can afford to feed?”

“Then the tribe will help. They are all tribe members, remember? Money is a stupid reason for limiting the abundance of our Creator!”

“I always thought so too, but Frank made me feel selfish for wanting more children… for not wanting to “fix” something that wasn’t broken!”

“Pardon me for saying it, but your ex is a stupid man!”

“Are you angry for me mentioning him too much?” she asked.

“No… no, my Coonagwi. You need time to heal – and that includes talking about the things that have hurt you. Never feel that you can’t talk about him to me. I’ve met him once and hope to never have the misfortune again, but I will do my utmost to help you heal!”

“You are too good!” she breathed.

“Nonsense!” He helped her up again. “I think we need to get out of here or I’m likely to take you back to bed again!”

“I’d love that,” she replied with a silly grin. “But the girls are going to be mad at me as it is!”

They put the dishes in the sink. “I’ll do these later,” Sage Eagle promised. He took her hand. “Let’s get out of here.”

They walked over to Nighthawk’s earthship. Past the plantings out front, Phoenix could just see the heads of Nighthawk and Little Deer inside. She wondered whether Jade Wolf would make an appearance with his nose the way it was. She accompanied her T’suanka to the front door where Sage Eagle hesitated a moment, as if to wonder whether he should knock.

“I have always lived with my father. I hope you don’t think less of me for that.”

“I don’t. This community is like one big family anyway, it doesn’t matter who lives where...”

“Another thing to love about you! You do not let our odd tribal ways phase you. I know I was mean before, but you have adjusted to our community unlike any other I’ve ever met! Let me claim you once more,” he murmured, then took her lips again.

Phoenix loved his way of claiming her – this kiss, just as public as the one she’d share with Pronghorn, but there was no ulterior motive, just to love him and to announce to everyone that they had claimed one another.

Their lips parted again, then, he led her inside.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to the prologue

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at Books2Read. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!

Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014, approximately 9 months before Phoenix.)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency