Phoenix - chapter 12 - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

(previously...)

12

Great Divide Basin

.
Tanya sat on the picnic blanket beside a babbling brook, the ground carpeted in soft green grass.

“Lovely Tanya,” the brown-skinned man said, looking at her, then catching her lips with his, the kisses growing deeper and more desperate as he pressed her back against the blanket, pushing his knee between hers.

She was drunk on his taste, melting under his touch. He could do anything to her and she’d want more. Her clothing seemed to melt off as he lowered himself onto her. “Have my brown-skinned baby,” he murmured.

“Yes...” she replied.

“You need to wake up,” Freya’s voice intruded.

Tanya tried to ignore the voice, but the brown-skinned man faded from her vision as Freya’s voice pulled her back to the present.

“Nice dream?” she asked.

Tanya blushed. “Yes.”

“You still dream though – that’s a good thing. I hope good things come your way soon. You’ve been unhappy for too long.”

“I hope so.”

“Anyway, I woke you up because we’re only half an hour from our turnoff. This is beautiful country. As much as I love Pendleton, I’m almost tempted to just stay in Ba’a O’ng.”

“Why not?” Tanya asked, not wanting to sever their acquaintance so soon.

“I have a place in Pendleton. I can help people like you… I’m where I’m supposed to be.”

Suddenly, it dawned on Tanya. “There’s a man isn’t there?”

“He’s Umatilla,” Freya admitted. “We’ve sometimes talked about marriage, but for now I’m happy having a ‘friend with benefits’ as I think they call it. Neither of us seem able to have children, so it’s a good arrangement.”

Tanya smiled. “I’m glad you have found your happiness. Maybe one day I’ll find mine.”

“I’m sure you will. You’re a ray of sunshine… that will attract another of the same feather. Maybe he will be Neme’o’ng.”

“Maybe,” Tanya replied, already liking the idea, even as they drove into a large valley that felt like it was at the top of the world. The clouds were lower than she remembered ever seeing before.

“Looks like it wants to snow,” Freya said. “Hopefully, Dancing Bear can find some better coats for the three of you. Portland doesn’t have the kind of cold you’ll face in Swan Valley.”

Tanya let the beauty fill her as she looked at the various mountains around the rim of the basin. At the same time, she felt the isolation. Frank wouldn’t dream of looking in such a place for her.

She could imagine a pack of wolves loping after a small herd of antelope on one side of the road, while on the other side, a small band of Indians galloped along on their spotted ponies, carrying bows and arrows and spears. They’d shoot several antelope to feed the tribe, then take the meat home to their women and babes – saving the hides to cover their tipis while bald eagles soared majestically above their little village.

She imagined her band of Indians riding towards her on horses. They’d meet her, the son of the chief would fall in love with her at first sight and swing her onto his horse. The girls would be safely ridden back with trustworthy warriors who would keep them from any harm while she was romanced by the man who rode with her. He’d take her back to his tipi where he’d gently romance her into his sleeping bag – after she protested with an appropriate amount of modesty, but finally being persuaded by him… then he’d marry her and they’d have a dozen brown-skinned babies to watch grow from the comfort of their warm and cozy tipi.

She felt tingly between her legs, already head-over-heels with the images in her mind, like the one who loved her in her dream.

Looking around, Tanya realized there was little or no vegetation anywhere she looked, save for a bit of sage or scrub and tall, dry grass. It was hard to see much more than that with the patchy snow covering everything else.

It came as a surprise when Freya slowed down and turned off the main highway onto a desolate road that wound towards the mountains which looked like they were laying on their sides. Tanya looked desperately for signs of hope in this high desert, but saw none. She felt disappointed. Swan Valley had promised luscious green, not this scrubland!

“It's nothing more than a desert,” Tanya said with disappointment. “I know you told me so, but I didn't expect it to be so desolate.”

“This was where the Neme’o’ng were when the US government decided to stop chasing them. They were allowed to stay here because the land was seen as useless to the United States. This is no worse than any other desolate land that the US government chose to bestow on its second-class citizens,” Freya answered. “They range some antelope and horses, but this land isn’t much good agriculturally – which is the only reason they were allowed to keep it.”

“I can't see how they can manage to have a thriving community out here,” said Tanya. “And here I am, another white person invading their land...”

“Just because your government treated them ill is no reason to think they tar you with the same brush – or that they fear you – or that their government will treat you similarly.” Freya continued. “Is race going to be a problem for you? I mean, I can still take you back or try to find somewhere else, but I honestly can't think of a better place for you.”

“No, it's not a problem for me, I was just worried that I might be the problem.”

“Only if you make yourself one...”

Tanya felt a dizzying mix of excitement and anxiety as they passed the sign reading:

Entering Swan Valley Indian Reservation. Our tribe welcomes you.

Below, the message was repeated – presumably in Neme’o’ng tongue. Maybe she could learn their language. She had never been any good at Spanish, but she’d never had any reason to learn it other than to get into college. Here, she’d have a reason to learn… to become Neme’o’ng.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to the prologue

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at [Books2Read]( coming soon. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!

Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014, approximately 9 months before Phoenix.)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency