Decima: Two Hold - Chapter 18 - A'mara Books

decima_2_hergil_anney_syr_margins_title_1600.png

Previously...

18

(Tharnday, cont.)

Tranas A’mara Retreat

.
Varice Vost left the stella’s quarters in a better mood, but it was still going to be difficult. She felt herself flush when she thought of seeing Fain this morning. They had parted so strangely last night.

She strode lazily towards the commons to find some breakfast.

“Good morning, abári,” several of the students greeted as they saw her.

“Good morning,” she replied to each one of them. She realized anew just how much she loved being an abári. Unlike most, she hadn’t eschewed the opportunity to lead her people. She recognized that someone had to do it and had felt honored that Saraca had felt her worthy of wearing the fringe at a time when A’mara were leaving the order in droves – mostly to avoid the wrath of the Empress, especially after Saraca’s death.

“Good morning, Varice,” Fain’s voice greeted, pulling her out of her trance with a jolt.

Instantly, her face reflected the blush that she tried hastily to clear away. “Good morning, Fain,” she replied. “I hope you slept well.”

“Not particularly.”

“Sorry to hear that,” she said, looking at him curiously, wondering whether he would elaborate. He didn’t as they went to the commons.

It was relatively quiet. As she looked at the chrono on the wall, she realized they were later than she would have expected of either of them.

Varice chose a bowl of porridge, adding swirls of honey and joberry sauce to it. She deliberately didn’t watch what Fain chose.

She sat down where she could look outside at the gardens which were in full bloom. She was sure Auraka could tell her most of the flowers and exactly what each plant was good for.

“May I sit here?” Fain asked. “I guess we’re a bit late to breakfast.”

“Sure.”

“Have you been thinking about our plans?” he asked.

“A bit,” Varice replied noncommittally.

“I as well,” he admitted. “You do realize that if we go through with this, you will be a huge target?”

“I think that’s part of the idea.”

“I mean, even bigger. Because you’ll be connected to me… permanently. Like Hraeva was. I cost her her life.”

“I am prepared for that possibility. Remember, I’m an abári in my own right. Saraca chose me – the same as she chose you.”

He nodded thoughtfully, as if he hadn’t really thought about that fact before. There were many who were surprised to see the abári of Tranas was a woman – despite all the years Saraca had led the A’mara, there was still an assumption that abáris were men. This was doubly true when the female abári was married to a man – especially another A’mara.

“Are we making a good example for our students?” he asked.

“How much history did you take?” she asked in return.

“What was required,” he replied.

“Our stella in Narcía… Cuja… She impressed upon me the need to learn more history lest I help doom us to repeat things.”

“I have heard this said before. I don’t consider myself ignorant, I just don’t focus on details that don’t matter right now.”

“But the details do matter!” she impressed. “I don’t mean the names of the Kings and Queens of Velantia, I’m talking about the things that mattered! The things that either started or averted wars, the little things...”

“This isn’t about war!” he maintained.

“But it is about small things making big differences. If we can find out where these women are going, we can stop this plague of disappearances. That’s where we come into this. Why does impression matter? We are simply doing what needs to be done to get the job done.” She felt her tears threatening and silently cursed her weakness.

His hand reached across and covered hers. “I know,” he replied. “You saw the stella earlier?”

She nodded. “I was right when I said that time wasn’t our ally right now.”

“Tonight then. I’ll bring the wine, you supply the music, okay?”

She nodded again.

“Look at me,” he requested.

She did and felt herself being swallowed up by those green eyes.

“You may have to put up with me for a long time if we get this right. Are you sure you want to wake up to this face for the next 20 years? I’m old, after all!”

Varice laughed and wondered how many couples began like this – with a business-like agreement to have a child! Couldn’t be many! “I think I’ll manage,” she replied. “You’re not too ugly and old yet!”

“Thanks, I think,” he said with mock pain on his face before it was cleared away for his usual calm, neutral face… his abári face. Yes, she could stand to wake up to that face forever!

“Come, abári,” she said, getting up. “We have a date over at the hospital. After last night’s discussion, I felt we should have a look at their surveillance footage.”

“Do you have an Ory filter?” he asked, taking their dirty dishes.

“Of course. What do you think I am?” she asked flirtatiously.

He chuckled. “I think I’ll find out this evening!”

“You’re a naughty man!”

He laughed more and took the dishes over to the mess bucket. Then he came back and took her hand. “You’re going to be a learning experience, I suspect!” he growled into her ear.

Varice giggled at the thought, then led him out of the commons.

“Did you see that?!” Anney asked Hergil eagerly.

“What?”

“My aunt and your father… leaving hand-in-hand for wherever!”

“No!” he replied with a grin. “He’s been out of sorts since we rescued Hrista and Kjane. This will be good for him!”

“Won’t it be weird though?” Anney asked. “Having a child who is older than your own half-sibling?”

“She’s not pregnant.”

“Yet.”

Hergil shrugged. “I suppose that sort of thing happened a lot in ages past. I mean, if you’re ready to reproduce at 15 or 20, you’re still 30, 35, 40 when that child is ready to reproduce, but you’re still healthy enough to keep going awhile longer, maybe another 10-20 years! Gee whiz, you could have great-grandchildren the same age as your children!”

“Just goes to show, Hergil. Family is what you make, not what you’re born into.”

“Like you and me,” he replied. “I’ve chosen you again.”

“I chose you first. Why do you think I had my aunt bring you and your dad to Tranas?”

“More than the crisis?” he asked.

She grinned.

♥♥♥

NEXT CHAPTER

Start over with chapter 1

Buy this story at: Books2Read - both digital and paper formats available.


Other stories about Decima... (all available in both digital and print formats.)

Maps and Guides

Map of Almara
2020_almara_lighter_labels_margins_1600.png

Map of Tranas
tranas_devel_02_cities_compass_margins_scale_1600.png

Map of Balan
2020_balan_margins_labels.png


Previous Stories:

Catch up with all my books on LBRY or Books2Read.

Click the image below for the blurbs to all my works, maps and everything you need to know about Terrenden.

Terrenden Link

Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency