Wild Water: Ysperklamm (Ysper Gorge)

I hope after my latest posts from the Dolomites you don't think that I have forgotten my love for waterfalls. Of course, there will be more posts from the Dolomites in the next weeks and months, but not today because it's time for some new waterfalls 😉

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber

Ysperklamm
Wild Water

So, in mid September I drove north without much of a plan, to be honest, and on my way I thought about the lakes and waterfalls I could visit. Many lakes, but only a few places with waterfalls, so I made the decision to drive to the Ysperklamm (Ysper is the name of the river running through the Ysper valley and Klamm = gorge) in Lower Austria where I haven't been before, but it's a place that I have heard a lot of.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

On my way to the Ysperklamm in Lower Austria I visited the well known and usually very well visited lake Almsee which I surprisingly had completely for me alone. The weather was more dark and rainy/snowy and I haven't taken many photos, but I'll make a post about my walk around the lake sometime in future when I have edited all photos.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The night before and on my way to the gorge it has been snowing, and so a little Winter Wonderland was waiting for me when I arrived at the parking lot in the afternoon after a 300 km / 186 miles drive.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Somehow I like this long exposure image of some white foam on the brown water.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And it was just as I love it when I visit an area for the first time - no other people have been around. Of course there were many foot steps from other visitors on the path, but because it was already getting darker, they had gone. Only one other photographer crossed my way, and after a little funny smalltalk I have been alone again.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

What a beautiful place and there's so much to explore. The path runs about 2 kilometers / 1.24 miles along the river with many wooden stairs and steps and lovely cascades and waterfalls to see. The snow added nicely to the scene and made the brown water looking even better (due to the high content of humic acid and the high iron content, the water in the Ysper Gorge turns brownish).

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Most of the waterfalls are not very high, so this place is more for taking detail photos of the water with a telephoto lens - intimate landscape photography - and of course to enjoy the walk through a mossy forest along a lovely river.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The weeks before Christmas and the the first weeks of the new year are usually the busiest days of the year, so I have had a very busy week and was offline most of the time, even at home, but today was a bit easier and I have found some time to make this short post inbetween while waiting for email responses and such 😉

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

As Christmas is just around the corner and I don't think I will be online much in the next few days, I would like to wish you all a Merry Christmas - may there be many gifts under the tree and may you have a wonderful time with your loved ones.

Ysperklamm - Wild Water - Ysper Gorge - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
Merry Christmas
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<>>> Twitter/johannpiber <<<

Some of my Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here


2022-12-22
[//]:# (!pinmapple 48.34016 lat 15.06059 long 2022-12-22-Ysperklamm d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
81 Comments
Ecency