Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls

This post is dedicated to everyone in the southern hemishpere who is suffering from the Summer heat at the moment.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Johann Piber

Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls

It's Sunday, I'm in the office but I wished I would be on a place like the one in the image below. But I shouldn't complain because it's an easy day and I even have some time to write a post ...

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Because I know that many of you in the southern hemisphere suffer from the Summer heat at the moment, I want to show you a few photos from two hikes I did recently ... maybe they are able to cool you down a bit ❄️


Gößfälle - Maltatal
January 22, 2023

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Actually, I wanted to visit another waterfall in the Maltatal valley in Carinthia that morning, but on my way there I thought that I have never been to the Gößfälle waterfalls and I could have a look if they are really that interesting like people say.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

To be honest, the waterfalls look cool, but now in Winter this place somehow doesn't look that amazing to me. I might give it another chance in Spring though, when the leafless trees and shrubs turn green again.
In Winter there's also no chance for me to get down into the gorge and closer to the waterfalls - too dangerous - and all those shrubs and trees are in my way.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

But in Springtime, when all the water from the melting snow is rushing down from the mountains, I might change my mind and fall in love with this place 😊

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

During my hike up the gorge and along the waterfalls I only made these close-up detail photos with my 100-400mm zoom lens because the leafless shrubs and bushes would have been disturbing everywhere in the images, and I really didn't like that.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

There was quite some snow in the forest and ice in the river, so the little water that was flowing wasn't so bad because of the ice that added nicely to the scenes, but when the snow in the mountains melts in Spring, it will be much more spectacular, I believe.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Gößfälle / Maltatal - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.98339 lat 13.45501 long 20230212-Goessfaelle d3scr)


Hartelsgraben - Gesäuse
February 11, 2023

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Hartelsgraben / Gesäuse - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Yesterday, I got up at 3:30, drove about 3 hours and luckily there was a snow free parking spot near the start of the hiking trail through the Hartelsgraben (Info Hartelsgraben (en)) in the Gesäuse National Park (Website Gesäuse (en) / Wikipedia: Gesäuse).
All other parking lots along the road haven't been cleared from snow yet, so I really was lucky that this one was snow free because otherwise I wouldn't have had any chance to park the car nor to do the hike.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Hartelsgraben / Gesäuse - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The trail through the Hartelsgraben (trench) is on the oldest forest road in Styria and leads mostly along the river of which I couldn't find the name.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Hartelsgraben / Gesäuse - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Last weekend it has snowed a lot in this area, so the trail was still completely covered in deep snow and partly buried by avalanches. Luckily I have had my snowshoes with me, so this wasn't a problem but rather fun.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Hartelsgraben / Gesäuse - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The Hartelsgraben is considered a natural jewel because of its imposing rock and water scenery and the gorge forest.
After my hike I can confirm this statement, although the snow and the avalanches have covered a lot of the trail and the river and it wasn't possible to get closer down to the water. That's why my 100-400 mm lens came handy again, and once more I have taken some intimate waterfall photos.

Wintertime: Freezing Water and Icy Waterfalls - Hartelsgraben / Gesäuse - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

[//]:# (!pinmapple 47.58359 lat 14.70575 long 20230212-Hartelsgraben d3scr)


So, I hope you liked my photos from these two hikes (I can still feel yesterday's hike in my bones 😅) and if you're in the Summer heat, I hope all this cold water and ice was able to cool you down a little bit.


Information

Google Maps: Gößfälle
Google Maps: Hartelsgraben

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<

Some of my Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here


2023-02-12
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
457 Comments
Ecency