A missed Sunset in the Dolomites and a Surprise

If I had not driven to the sea first, I wouldn't have missed a lovely sunset in the Dolomites, but there was also a surprise...

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber

A missed Sunset in the Dolomites
Passo di Giau

As promised a couple of weeks ago, I have once more been to the Italian Dolomites and the Passo di Giau (Google Maps: Passo di Giau).

On December 8, 2022, a holiday in Austria, I had the funny idea that I could drive to the Adriatic Sea and take some beach photos. My decision was made quite late and so I arrived close to lunchtime in Grado in Italy, of course much too late for sunrise.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Adriatic Sea - Grado - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Adriatic Sea - Grado - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I think this was the only seagull that wasn't surrounded by many others ;)

It was a little cloudy, but the sun was shining and it was quite warm, so I made a walk on the beach and took some photos from the sea and also from the thousands of seagulls. But because the sun was very high already, I didn't enjoy photographing a lot and thought of another destination ... Sunset in the Dolomites came into my mind.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

So, after a long walk along the water back to the car park, I drove north again, but not towards home, but more to the west to South Tyrol and the Italian Dolomites.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Because I didn't take the shortest route, it was a long journey on sometimes narrow roads through small villages and over one cool to drive mountain pass of which I have forgotten the name. You want to know why it was cool to drive over this pass? Answer: the road was very narrow and curvy and I love such mountain roads.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The final section of my route lead up to Passo di Giau and the road was partly icy and even snowy = very slippery and driving there made a lot of fun.

Monte Ragusela
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

When I arrived on the pass, the sun was already setting and I had to find a parking spot first. There have already been a few other photographers on the hill that's marked on Google maps as Viewpoint Passo Giau.
Because I rarely go to places where other photographers are, I drove a bit to the other side of the pass and parked my car on the parking spot where I have been last time.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I didn't have snow shoes with me and the snow was over knee deep, but I needed to get up to the other hill where no other photographers were, and so I trudged upwards through the snow ... you might even have heard me breathing hard and loud 🤣.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

But the sun was faster than me and because the very steep part of the route up the hill was still in front of me, I decided to stop take some photos where I was before the sunlight was completely gone.

I would love to know which version of my snow walk you prefer: the cool one on the left or the warmer toned on the right. The image was taken with my Xiaomi phone.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Somehow I like the images which I certainly wouldn't have taken if I had been there earlier that evening. I like the ones most where's only a kind of snowy desert and the orange sunset sky behind to see.

Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The Surprise

On my way back down to the car I suddenly saw a shine behind the mountains in the east: the full moon was about to rise. I had not known that there was a full moon that night, so I was even more happy ... I had missed the sunset, but was on time for the moonrise ... good luck in bad luck 😀

Moonrise in the Dolomites
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Missed Sunset in the Dolomites - Passo di Giau - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

That was it for today thanks a million for staying here till the end - I hope you liked the images of my missed sunset and the rising moon.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<

See my photos on Adobe Stock or buy an NFT on the Foundation Plattform

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free on Hive.io or on Hiveonboard or on Ecency


2023-02-21
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.48049 lat 12.06012 long 2023-02-21-Passo-di-Giau d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
127 Comments
Ecency