Not from Today - 7th of September

This will be an irregular series of posts - in these posts I'm going to look back into my archive to see what photos I took this day in previous years

This 'Not from Today' but it is from the 7th of September

What I find my fascinating in this exercise (and it takes a while to look through old photos) is that I can normally remember the photo, or the day I took it.

2004 - The Window in the Cemetery

7th of Sept 2004.jpg

This is case in point - almost an entire adult ago and I can remember exactly where I was - Boroondara cemetery in the city of Melbourne, Australia - It's not my part of town, I was there for other reasons (nope no one was dead), but I wandered into this place with no purpose and found a lovely like shrine with this window and the light was just right. Taken on a Canon PowerShot G3

2002 - Birds

7th of September 2002.jpg

This was from a time that I was taking a single photo a day and writing words. This was also almost twenty year ago when I was young and dumb.

Birds - Flapping wildly but staying still against the furious wind. I'm sure there is something poetic about that, I don't what it is, so let's just pretend I found great meaning in it

Taken with a random little camera called a Largin Lmini 350

2010 - The Business Man's stride

7th of September 2010.jpg

This was for a very long time my most viewed photo on Flickr, it's still 5th - I never really had any idea why - I liked it when I took it but I didn't think it was amazing or anything - what I was doing in this park (which is incidentally about a 10 minute walk from where I live now, but on the 'wrong side' of the river from where I was living in 2010) on a Tuesday is anyone's guess. And I think this is how us young business people dressed back then. Taken with a Samsung EX-1

2014 - The Building and the Moon

7th of September 2014.jpg

Okay we are getting into a time when I consider myself to be a reasonably good photographer. It's a Sunday afternoon, I'm guessing late afternoon. September is spring in Melbourne so it would be the first time in a while that I'd likely seen the sun so I have wandered down to Docklands where the urban rejuvenation is in full swing. This is also from my 'Buildings a wacky angles phase - eventually I realise cameras work best when you hold them level. This one taken with a Fujifilm X10

2018 In the time of Steemit

7th of September 2018.JPG

This one is during my Steemit phase - I was back again to doing a photo a day - but after a fair amount of searching it turns out this was a rejected photo from that day - I have a vague recollection of using this photo somewhere - making a statement about commercialization of street art or something - Again I haven't gone far this wall is maybe 400m from where I live. Taken with a Fujifilm X-E3

2019 - Me being commercial

7th of September 2019.JPG

This is not the type of photography I normally do - but I have to admit I really like this shoot - I was playing around with some stuff for a document I was writing about craft beer. Kaiju are a local Melbourne brewery and there was something about their cans I just really liked so I set this shot up on the kitchen table - I'm sure the final post production version was toned down a little. This was taken with a Fujifilm X-T3

A collection of photos taken over almost twenty years - what is most amazing about this day is how I have strayed almost nowhere - every shot taken in Melbourne, Australia. In 2021 I could almost still visit all of these places if I was allowed more than 5km from home.

And that my friends was my life on the 7th of September but not from today

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency